Originally Posted by Keith the Cop
Updated my 8330 and now I keep getting a message stating I have upgraded to a different blackberry and I need to notify contacts or lose them. Needless to say I have lost contacts like 10x.
Restoring backup brings them back, but if you pull the battery it happens again.
I agree Zerog, JS will most likely have the answer. Since it's related to contacts I remember something about the issue arising if the contact name has special characters in it, like smiles or winks. Do the names of the contacts contain these? If so try remove and see if the contacts then stick around.