View Single Post
Old 10-22-2008, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
wu-wei
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 9700
PIN: A GADDA DA VIDA
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Post Thanks: 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by bogman View Post
Cool - had a look on the website - it looks good - although a bit pricey?

I work in a bank that's paranoid about security - does anyone know when my PC is connected to our corporate network if my Outlook will be able to connect to SyncMeMobile? I know you can't answer for my particular situation - but in general does it work from behind corporate firewalls. If it doesn't, then its not a lot of use as I won't be able to access new data in Outlook during the day?
Depends what you're trying to do.

If you're looking for a way to sync your work Outlook/Exchange info with your BB without using the corporate BES, that can be very difficult and require goofy syncing kludges.

You could, I suppose, create a separate profile for accessing the hosted Exchange through the Outlook installation at work, but then you'd be switching between profiles all day, and I don't know how easy it would be to keep things in sync. Maybe through a local PST file? Then you'll be copying back and forth, trying to sync. Sounds like a headache.

If you're looking to maintain a separate personal Outlook with BES, then a hosted Exchange will work. I'm able to access my syncmemobile account through an OWA interface, rather than through an Outlook profile.

Personally, I've done the following:

Export all my relevant work data to a PST file, which I then imported into my home Outlook account (which syncs with my hosted Exchange). That took care of the bulk transfer of existing appointments, contacts and tasks.