View Single Post
Old 06-17-2009, 09:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
voda_black
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 236
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roost View Post
found this in admin guide

Protect a stolen BlackBerry device
1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
2. Click Manage users.
3. Search for a user account.
4. In the search results, click the PIN for the user account.
5. In the Activation list, click Delete all device data and disable device.
6. Click Yes - Delete all device data and disable device.
After you finish:
• Verify that the BlackBerry device received the command.
• Contact your organization's wireless service provider to turn off the service for a BlackBerry device after you send the IT
administration command to delete all of the BlackBerry device data and deactivate the BlackBerry device.
Administration Guide Protecting and reassigning BlackBerry devices

Protect a lost BlackBerry device
If a user misplaces a BlackBerry® device or if a BlackBerry device is stolen, you can protect the data on the BlackBerry device by
locking the BlackBerry device or making it unavailable.
1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
2. Click Manage users.
3. Search for a user account.
4. In the search results, click the PIN for the user account..
5. In the Activation section, click Specify new device password and lock device.
6. Type and verify an activation password. The password must not contain special characters. Some BlackBerry devices do not
support special characters and do not unlock when a user types a password that contain special characters.
7. Click Specify new device password and lock device.

Protect a lost BlackBerry device that a user might recover
If a BlackBerry® device is lost but the user might recover it, you can protect the BlackBerry device by scheduling it to start deleting
all user information and application data and become unavailable after a period of time that you specify. You can also specify
whether the user can cancel the scheduled command if the user recovers the BlackBerry device.
1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
2. Click Manage users.
3. Search for a user account.
4. In the search results, click the PIN for the user account.
5. In the Activation section, click Delete all device data and disable device.
6. In the Erase data settings section, perform the following actions:
• In the Erase Data Delay (hours) field, type the number of hours that must elapse before the BlackBerry device starts
deleting user information and application data.
• In the Allow user override drop-down list, click Yes to permit the user to cancel the scheduled command on the
BlackBerry device if the user recovers it.
7. Click Yes - Delete all device data and disable device.
Administration Guide Protecting lost, stolen, or replaced BlackBerry devices
Yes - saw that - but in my BES, delete data from device option does not exist if I click on the user name. Only generate new password and lock handheld. And if I click on the pin, it says "The request could not be completed"
Offline   Reply With Quote