Quote:
Originally Posted by jakemullins
Is it true that after you download the program and have it running, then a second email comes from the company to ask about your device's pin?
It seems like a scam...I bought the program off of smartphone.net. In bad English they said they would send send my registration key once I send my pin.
It came from i-softwarelabs [iberrysupport@hotmail.com]
|
How you get your key can vary depending on the site where you purchased it. Larger online merchants (e.g. Handango) can generate a key for you based on your PIN "on the fly" and the merchant can email it to you even before you've finished downloading. Other merchants might not have that ability. I haven't used smartphone.net so I don't know. But in a case where the merchant can't generate the key for you, generally when you purchase the software, an email notification is sent to the author, who then may have to ask you for your PIN if the merchant didn't do so or include that in the notification to the author, who then generates your key and sends it to you.
That hotmail address for him is legit. Also, yes -- I would imagine he's from overseas somewhere and English isn't his native language.