The only way any information would remain intact would be if you were using the same database and/or the mail servers were in the same environment. If you are simply moving these users to a completely new environment, then they will most likely have to recradle or reactivate. If IT Policy is in use, then you definitely will.
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.