BlackBerryForums.com : Your Number One BlackBerry Community      

»Sponsored Links




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  (#1 (permalink)) Old
carteelith Offline
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Default Is this freeware site legit? - 05-18-2008, 10:37 PM

Blackberry freeware Software

There are a lot of apps on here I want to try but I want to know if this site is legit first. Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Please Login or Register to Remove these Advertisements!

  (#2 (permalink)) Old
JSanders Offline
BBF Moderator & BBFAQ Contributer
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,445
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: TMobile & Cingular
Default 05-18-2008, 10:43 PM

Look ok so far... however it bothers me that they allow to you download, BeamBerry, as a zip file from their site, rather than linking to the BeamBerry - View, Print, Store BlackBerry e-mail attachments website where you can download the latest update of the application.

Nevertheless, many of those app (such as BeamBerry) will still require activation from the developer.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#3 (permalink)) Old
daphne Offline
BBF Moderator
 
daphne's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,855
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sunny California
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: P I N
Carrier: Verizon - It's the Network
Default 05-18-2008, 11:43 PM

I wonder if the site has permission from the owners of the apps to host them there. The downloads I checked are hosted at that site, like this:

http://www.blackberrysoftwarelist.net/Blackberry/Download-software/blackberry-freeware/Viigo.aspx

http://www.blackberrysoftwarelist.net/Blackberry/Download-software/blackberry-communication/BBSmart_HTML_Email_viewer.aspx

We could check with the developer on that one.

There are 2 other blackberry sites in the same IP address.

http://whois.domaintools.com/blackberryfreaks.comFreaks

http://whois.domaintools.com/blackberrythemes.net

I made them non-clickable on purpose.

The whois info is the same for all three.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#4 (permalink)) Old
eZainny Offline
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
eZainny's Avatar
 
Posts: 340
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Default 05-19-2008, 02:37 AM

Hi daphne,

Thanks for your concern!

From what I can see the site is fine. It looks like they're just listing download trials of our (and other vendors) software. There are a couple of other sites out there on the 'net that do this as well.

At the end of the day I don't think most developers would have a problem with this; after all, it's just another distribution point which is a good thing for us (it's hard to get your software out there and known to BlackBerry users!). We don't have control over our product listings on this site, so sometimes the software they are listing may be out of date (for example, I noticed they're listing an old release of BBSmart Email Viewer), but other than that I think they're OK.

Cheers,
Neil.


View HTML email today with the Best Selling BlackBerry application: BBSmart Email Viewer
   
Reply With Quote
  (#5 (permalink)) Old
daphne Offline
BBF Moderator
 
daphne's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,855
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sunny California
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: P I N
Carrier: Verizon - It's the Network
Default 05-19-2008, 10:10 PM

Thanks for the reply Neil. Having outdated copies of installers is a problem with non-official sites hosting software, but in this case it doesn't harm anyone, I guess. I've seen sites hosting outdated copies of security software that could give a false sense of protection to an unknowing user. In those cases the developers were not happy about their apps being hosted without their knowledge or permission.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#6 (permalink)) Old
carteelith Offline
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Default 05-19-2008, 10:31 PM

oh so some of those apps are only the installer and aren't the full thing?
   
Reply With Quote
  (#7 (permalink)) Old
JSanders Offline
BBF Moderator & BBFAQ Contributer
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,445
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: TMobile & Cingular
Default 05-19-2008, 10:35 PM

'Installer' being the *.exe file (or the *.exe file in a zipped format)... so yes it should work fine. Just as noted though, some are outdated.
   
Reply With Quote
  (#8 (permalink)) Old
carteelith Offline
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Default 05-20-2008, 11:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
'Installer' being the *.exe file (or the *.exe file in a zipped format)... so yes it should work fine. Just as noted though, some are outdated.
Yes, sorry I wasn't very specific. I know what the installre is, by full I meant all features. Should I expect some of them to only have limited features and ppsibly a price to unlock the others?
   
Reply With Quote
  (#9 (permalink)) Old
JSanders Offline
BBF Moderator & BBFAQ Contributer
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Posts: 31,445
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: TMobile & Cingular
Default 05-20-2008, 12:01 PM

no, some of them are just old files. In those cases the developer has updated applications that this website has not.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On






Copyright © 2004-2008 BlackBerryNews.com, BlackBerryFAQ.com, BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of Research In Motion Limited.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.1