PDA

View Full Version : App Loader / OS Reinstall / BES question?

JWR1221
11-02-2007, 11:31 AM
Hi All! Newbie here that just got an 8100 for work using BES...

Long story short, here's what went down: I installed the DM software and connected up and tried to use App Loader to "uninstall" the pre-loaded sample video to conserve storage space. It did uninstall the video, but apparently uninstalled a bunch of other files too... When I reboot the BB, it comes up with an error but is able to proceed. The voice and e-mail still work, but I'm missing both browers from my main menu and I can't open any media files.

I've alerted our local IT dept, but BB's are all handled by our corporate location so they're waiting on them...

In the meantime, I've downloaded OS 4.2.1.154 (8100c on AT&T) and DM 4.2.2.14. My OS is currently 4.2.0.73 on the BB and I'm using XPSP2 on the PC.

If I update my OS via my PC, will I lose my BES connection? If so, can I just re-authorize under Option/Advanced/BES Authorization? Is there an easier way to "undo" what App loader did?

No matter what, I'll get IT's approval before I do anything more, but I'd like to stay in their good graces by making it as painless as possible for them!

Thanks for the advice!

-Josh

JWR1221
11-02-2007, 11:48 AM
I saw in another thread in the 8100 area about resending the service books...

I tried to log in to the AT&T provider page and it told me that "my account is not accessible via HTML" and that I needed to use my device to access blackberry internet service.

But I no longer have the icon for the browser...

John Clark
11-02-2007, 12:35 PM