PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions - 7250

jantman
11-05-2007, 03:40 PM
Hi,

A bit of background - I've been using a Treo 600 for the past 2 years. It's pretty much dead now, to the point that I had to retire it. I'm planning on getting a Treo 700p, btu as a college student (even one working in IT) I don't have the $400 to spend on one at the moment. So, a friend who upgraded gave me his BB 7250.

I have a few questions regarding features that are "missing" and have me very unsettled. Please keep in mind that in a month or two, I'm probably going back to a Treo (unless I really learn to love this thing) so I want to keep everything setup in a way that will sync to Outlook and then to the new Treo as painlessly as possible.

So, my questions:

1) Is there really no way to get the equivalent of a "snooze" button for the calendar?

2) Is there any way to set *different* vibrate alerts, i.e. one buzz for calendar, two for SMS, etc.? I saw some of the free software mentioned on this forum, but couldn't find anything that would handle calendar events.

3) When the phone is in the holster and I get an SMS, it vibrates twice. I pull it out, look at the screen - and it's just how it used to be. On the home screen. No visual cue that the buzzing was an SMS or who it's from. Anything I can do about this?

4) Alerts the repeat - it appears that the 7250 doesn't have them. I noticed a program referenced on this forum - BBAlert, I think - but saw comments that it only handles SMS, not calendar.

Thanks,
J

juwaack68
11-05-2007, 04:00 PM
Welcome to the world of Blackberry!

1. Yes, you can set the default reminder on your Calendar to 'snooze' (1 min, 5 min, etc, up to 30 minutes)

2. Yes, you would do that under Profiles, following this FAQ:
How do I edit my notification tones (profiles)? - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_edit_my_notification_tones_%28profiles%29%3F)