PDA

View Full Version : Latest 8800 OS: Telkomcel Indonesia - 4.2.1.179 / 4.2.1.108 (Chinese-English)


Spencer_CDS
11-06-2007, 05:49 PM
Software For BlackBerry 8800 (TM)

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.1.179 (Chinese)

Package Version: 4.2.1.179
Consisting of:
* Applications: 4.2.1.108
* Software Platform: 2.3.0.85
* File name: 8800C_PBr4.2.1_rel179_PL2.3.0.85_A4.2.1.108_Telkomsel.exe
* File size: 65.74MB

Download Link: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=36A16A2505369E0C922B6EA7A23A56D2


Instructions for installing:

1. Make sure you have the latest version of Desktop Manager installed. Currently, the latest version available is 4.3 and may be downloaded here: http://www.blackberry.com/go/softwaredownloads

2. Download the above file to the PC then install it to the PC by running the file you downloaded.

3. Locate the vendor.xml file and delete it. It is located at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\Apploader

4. Plug in the BlackBerry and open Desktop Manager. You should be prompted to upgrade.

The process takes about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how much data you have to backup and restore during the process. Once it's done loading the new OS it will reboot (it may do this twice during the entire process.) You will see a white screen with an hourglass for up to 20 minutes at a time while the DM says "waiting for initialization." Don't unplug from the PC & Don't remove the battery unless the spinning hourglass has been there for 30 minutes or more. If the hourglass has been spinning for more than 30 minutes continuously you will need to wipe the device with JL_Cmder (close out of Desktop Manager during this process.) You will then end up with a white screen with small icons and an error code number like 507 or 543.

If you end up with a white screen with small icons and the number 507/543, simply connect to DM again and run application loader again and it should load the OS to the device.

Link to Previous OS Thread: Click here (http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-8800-series-discussion/101511-dobson-software-8800-4-2-1-175-ap-4-2-1-107-plat-2-3-0-83-a.html)

JSanders
11-06-2007, 06:44 PM
If it is determined this has English language included, please comment.

Spencer_CDS
11-06-2007, 07:36 PM
If it is determined this has English language included, please comment.

I am almost as positive as positive gets that English is the native included language in EVERY OS for all BlackBerry devices.

I'm installing this right now. I'll let'cha know.

mckinneycm
11-06-2007, 07:39 PM
yeah, I think what we've determined is that the 'Multilanguage' version includes everything EXCEPT Chinese, and the 'Chinese' version has everything INCLUDING Chinese.

Spencer_CDS
11-06-2007, 07:39 PM
Not quite ... the Chinese one lacks a couple ... Greek, Portugese, and Catalan, I believe, for example.

mckinneycm
11-06-2007, 07:40 PM
Sorry, I wasn't looking for those languages...:oops:

Spencer_CDS
11-06-2007, 07:43 PM
Hahaha, no, no, I understand. Just saying, though, for someone who requires those (Portugese, for example), they may find themselves working with an older OS version.

Really, though, I bet one could edit the .alx files and copy the languages from the previous OS version (since there's only a .001 version difference) and have them on their handset, too.

chainsawcharlie
11-06-2007, 09:27 PM
these are the modified blackberry.alx and lbs.alx i made and used to unlock the vendor themes and bbmaps.

I take zero responsibility for you destroying your device from not knowing what you are doing or something wrong with the files.. It worked on my device which is an 8800

iamxp
11-07-2007, 01:31 AM
CBR900RR , kind friend, maybe still appreciated you to upload this rom bcz I still can not download from website due to chinese IP still is refused.
many thanks.

John Clark
11-07-2007, 02:00 AM
Chinese IP's are refused for a reason, unfortunatly. Wish there was something we could do for you.

iamxp
11-07-2007, 02:12 AM
Chinese IP's are refused for a reason, unfortunatly. Wish there was something we could do for you.

that will be great appreciated if you can upload to me after you down it as this friend did (http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-8800-series-discussion/101511-dobson-software-8800-4-2-1-175-ap-4-2-1-107-plat-2-3-0-83-a.html) Tks

tekki31
11-07-2007, 10:27 AM
Gonna try this latest OS, cause the chinese version I have vodophone HK
is giving me a lot of static/drop calls. Thanks for the find and info..let you know how calls are with this. (y)

Later

tekki31
11-07-2007, 11:50 AM
Just finished the install and placed 3 calls, seems better than it was. (y)
Next will load the 8820 version of this..

Thanks Again! 8-)

Spencer_CDS
11-07-2007, 11:58 AM
Interesting ... lot of other Jersey folk on these forums ... ^_^

jungleland
11-07-2007, 12:06 PM
maybe I'm just nuts, but the way things display on the screen look slightly different. Almost like when you change the refresh rate on your computers monitor.

Anyone else notice this?

iamxp
11-08-2007, 09:39 AM
can someone kindly upload this newest rom bcz it can not downloaded from above website from China? that will be thank.

CBR900RR
11-08-2007, 05:16 PM
can someone kindly upload this newest rom bcz it can not downloaded from above website from China? that will be thank.

I am downloading now and will upload right after.

CBR900RR
11-08-2007, 08:05 PM
I am downloading now and will upload right after.

Here you go

RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting (http://rapidshare.com/files/68406007/8800C_PBr4_1_.2.1_rel179_PL2.3.0.85_A4.2.1.108_Telkomsel.exe)

guntha
11-08-2007, 11:33 PM
Big improvement for me in new jersey and nyc area. I was stumped as to why it was happening, but if you're on tmobile using the vodaphone os and having problems this fixes it.
I am curious as to why this happened, mayhaps it was preferring a certain frequency or something of the sort.

Thanks for the link, cheers.

iamxp
11-09-2007, 12:54 AM
Here you go

RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting (http://rapidshare.com/files/68406007/8800C_PBr4_1_.2.1_rel179_PL2.3.0.85_A4.2.1.108_Telkomsel.exe)

sorry to trouble you again and many many thanks. i am downloading. very kind to you. tks a lot again.

x14
11-09-2007, 11:37 AM
maybe I'm just nuts, but the way things display on the screen look slightly different. Almost like when you change the refresh rate on your computers monitor.

Anyone else notice this?

I've notice this tool. I think the initial change was in 107. I experienced some screen rendering issue in 107 and don't have that problem with 108.

chainsawcharlie
11-11-2007, 10:12 PM
i have had terrible batterylife with this rom

JEEPers
11-15-2007, 04:19 PM
I have pretty good battery life and this OS rocks. I didn't get a chance to put the other Chinese language open but everything works good and I did get a few weird errors but other than that .. nothing major.

CBR900RR
11-15-2007, 05:13 PM
FYI

Singapore and vodaphone had the same version posted on there site.

Spencer_CDS
11-19-2007, 09:27 AM
Snazzy. Which Vodafone carrier? Do they have a multilanguage version available?

mzamora
11-20-2007, 12:32 PM
This version already support the Bluetooth®stereo audio profile (A2DP/AVRCP)?

Fullfast
11-21-2007, 07:45 AM
Right.....I have a problem

Downloaded the latest from 02 in the UK for the 8800, went through the whole backup part, then told me it was going to upgrade and re-install which it did, device restarted took about 15 mins, now shows exception errors and will not connect to the desktop manager in anyway shape or form so no chance of restoring or re-flashing.......any ideas anyone

John Clark
11-21-2007, 10:59 AM
Did you try removing the battery and reinserting?

Fullfast
11-21-2007, 11:21 AM
Sure did, just had to have the thing rebuilt from scratch.....still not working properly.......

lmwong
11-23-2007, 12:31 PM
This version already support the Bluetooth®stereo audio profile (A2DP/AVRCP)?

No, it does not.

John Clark
11-23-2007, 12:33 PM
Stereo bluetooth isn't supported until 4.2.2 or greater comes out for the 8800.

Dwaine
11-24-2007, 04:44 PM
I loaded it on to my 8800 and it works perfectly. No problems being experienced so far.

shakhzod
11-27-2007, 08:58 AM
will this software work with BB 8820???

JSanders
11-27-2007, 09:16 AM
NO. That is why it is labeled FOR the 8800.

Latest 8800 OS: Telkomcel Indonesia - 4.2.1.179 / 4.2.1.108 (Chinese-English) - 11-06-2007, 04:49 PM

Software For BlackBerry 8800 (TM)

The latest for the 8820 is this:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-8800-series-discussion/103578-latest-8820-os-telkomcel-indonesia-4-2-2-321-4-2-2-175-chinese-english.html

akgrown
11-27-2007, 06:15 PM
Hmm... Not so sure about this OS. I've had questionable battery performance, and just now I was getting a "Battery too low for radio use" message even though I had it plugged into the wall and the Status screen reported a 10% charge. Previously, I could take it to a reported 5% or below without it shutting off the radio. I may roll back if we don't see another contender released in the next week or so...

Spencer_CDS
11-27-2007, 06:50 PM
Hmm... Not so sure about this OS. I've had questionable battery performance, and just now I was getting a "Battery too low for radio use" message even though I had it plugged into the wall and the Status screen reported a 10% charge. Previously, I could take it to a reported 5% or below without it shutting off the radio. I may roll back if we don't see another contender released in the next week or so...

Seems to be working quite well for me. Haven't had any of those issues so far myself ...

Jeff.H
11-29-2007, 11:12 PM
One thing I have noticed is that I used to have a separate folder on the desktop for my sms messages next to the email folder. It seems to be gone with this version.

CBR900RR
11-29-2007, 11:43 PM
Open up an email message>Options>General Options>SMS and Email Inboxes

choose SEPERATE

Jeff H.
11-30-2007, 12:27 AM
Thanks! Now how do I get BB maps enabled? It says its installed per the applications but I cant seem to actually get to the app.

CBR900RR
11-30-2007, 01:04 AM
Over here

http://www.blackberryforums.com/gps-mapping/91383-how-get-bbmaps-show-my-blackberry.html

solefald
12-02-2007, 07:20 PM
is there Russian Language option is this release?

Spencer_CDS
12-05-2007, 01:10 PM
Now also available from SmarTone-Vodafone.

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=9461CCE28EBE3E76FB4B931C35A169B0

djmcobra
12-11-2007, 09:54 AM
Do any of the OS' support VPN access as a new feature? I currently have 4.2.1.74

Thanks.

AndrejSk
12-17-2007, 11:57 AM
Anyone suceeded to load the White Vodafone Theme on it?
In this release, the name "white" appears, but its still the green one.. :(

atuarre
12-23-2007, 08:38 AM
Ever since I installed this version of the 8800 OS on my Blackberry, the battery life has been terrible.

Dcoliva
12-28-2007, 02:02 PM
I wanted to let the community know that OS 4.2.1.179/4.2.1.108 is also aout for TIM (Italy) in a Multilanguage pack.

Link:
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=1D72310EDC006DADF2190CAAD5802983

accuphase
12-29-2007, 04:41 PM
Hey, that's great. Thanks for this news!

Installed. Works fine!

Happy New Year

ruechel
12-30-2007, 09:19 AM
i can't see any significant difference between this OS and the latest TMobile OS. besides the whole thing crashed on me and i got one of those 587 error messages so i reinstalled the TMO one. If you ever have a problem with the device and have to call customer service, try doing that with a renegade OS. not cute...if the difference were revolutionary, i'd say do it but it isn;t so why mess around with stuff??

grasshopper
01-02-2008, 08:42 PM
Does anyone know if the 8820 OS will work on the 8830 model? I really need Chinese input and I finally think I understand the upgrade process enough... Appreciate all replies.

TIA,
TC

John Clark
01-03-2008, 12:24 AM
You cannot load an 8820 OS on an 8830. Comptely and totally different devices.

pef
01-14-2008, 11:23 AM
Hi guys
I'm having an issue downloading the OS from the Blackberry website. I acknowledge my connection is pretty poor: it stops after 20-30 mins and I can't resume the download cos I must download it with the IE or FireFox built-in downloader. I've been trying 15 times and it's beginning to piss me off...
Oh and I'm in a place where I share the connection with many other people so the ports for p2p are sadly closed :?
If anyone had a solution it would be great!!

sclgva
01-19-2008, 09:11 AM
these are the modified blackberry.alx and lbs.alx i made and used to unlock the vendor themes and bbmaps.

I take zero responsibility for you destroying your device from not knowing what you are doing or something wrong with the files.. It worked on my device which is an 8800

I have a BB 8800 (from TIM working with an ORANGE CH sim card) and before updated the device I have "error 507" on the screen... Is there a way to restore the BB to the original? Thanking you, SCLGVA

sclgva
01-19-2008, 09:13 AM
The newest version for the BB 8800 is from TIM Italia... Here's the download link: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=1D72310EDC006DADF2190CAAD5802983

++++

sclgva
01-19-2008, 09:16 AM
Anyone knows how to do a hard reset on a BB 8800?

twoface
01-20-2008, 06:04 AM
Simply remove battery and put it back.

fishzle
01-21-2008, 07:17 PM
I'm completely new and confused but can this operating system be installed on any 8800 with any provider?? Sorry guys this is probably such a newbie question. Basically I have been given an 8800 and it is out of warranty but every once and awhile the screen goes white and says "app error 523/503" i forget which one and I'm wondering if this operating system will possibly fix the problem?

John Clark
01-21-2008, 07:38 PM
Yes, you can load this on any 8800, regardless of carrier. I suggest doing a wipe using JL_Cmder and then installing it since you're having app errors. (backup your data first!)

fishzle
01-21-2008, 07:52 PM
How do I wipe with JML_Cmber?

John Clark
01-21-2008, 07:53 PM
How do I wipe the BlackBerry using Jl Cmder? - BlackBerryFAQ.com (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F)

fishzle
01-21-2008, 07:55 PM
How do I wipe with JML_Cmber?

Nevermind i see it in your signature.

John Clark
01-21-2008, 07:55 PM
(y)

fishzle
01-22-2008, 01:02 PM
Thanks guys. So far so good, no crashes.

atuarre
02-08-2008, 04:40 AM
There has not been any updates? No new software released by other carriers yet?

LordSnakes
02-11-2008, 12:00 AM
People prompt as well as where to take the version of an insertion for 8800 with Russian

es_own
03-15-2008, 06:25 AM
Hi,
I have a BB 8800 and i tried to instal lackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.1.179 , and the hourglass has been spinning for more than 30 minutes continuously , then i wipe my BB8800, and now i get the white screen +the number 507.

Spencer_CDS says to reconect to DM but it doesnt work, it says Disconected and i cant conect anymore to DM.(i tryed to canect manualy from DM ---> Options -> Connectyion Settings)

plss help me

BlankBerry
03-30-2008, 06:03 PM
I cant get this to load onto my 8800 @<hidden> all I did the explained directions but just wont update..is there a way to manually update ?

John Clark
03-30-2008, 06:04 PM
So, you installed Desktop Manager?
Then you installed the OS listed above?
After that make sure you delete the vendor.xml file

Then connect the BB and run application loader in Desktop Manager.

Welcome to BBF!

BlankBerry
03-30-2008, 06:52 PM
Thats what I been trying but when I open application loader nothing happens.. =/
However it does say this in the screen..
The BlackBerry Desktop Manager does not have
BlackBerry Device software for the device that
you have connected to the computer.Contact
your wireless service provider or administrator.

But I have to highlight it to see it.. Weird huh..?

John Clark
03-30-2008, 06:53 PM
Either:

A. You installed the wrong OS for your device. Make sure it's an OS for the 8800.

B. You need to delete the vendor.xml file.

RickyRauss
04-06-2008, 11:35 AM
Hey Guys

has it been confirmed that the english is enclosed witht his version thats labeled chinese?

Also My 8800 's trackball is an orangish tint instead ot the tradional white light from other 880's i see. Ive taken the ball out, cleaned it, still to no avail. Any reason why this may occur?

darkdragoon
04-06-2008, 06:38 PM
Downloaded and had it installed on my "new" 8800 that I just got off eBay yesterday... :razz:

BlankBerry
04-07-2008, 03:01 AM
I finally got it installed WooHoo..! But has anyone noticed their signal strength dropping bigtime..? Im losing signal just within my house where before I had full bars..Did the bat pull but remains the same..I have yet to install a earlier version to see if it has anything to do with this OS..

JEEPers
04-11-2008, 03:52 AM
Wirelessly posted

CBR900RR,

Can you help me upgrade to the new OS 4.2.1.179/4.2.1.108 is out for TIM (Italy) but keep the Chinese Language package?? Or can someone point me where to go to find this info. Thanks.