PDA

View Full Version : Dropped 8700c

mdetardo
12-09-2007, 09:27 PM
Hey everyone.

Just dropped my Blackberry 8700c on the pavement getting out of my car. Instantly, the screen went to black. I wasn't successful getting it to turn back on at all, even with removing the battery and putting it back in.

Once I got home I plugged it into my charger, the red light will come on for about 10 seconds...go off again for 10 seconds...then come on again for about 10 more seconds...then it will shut off and that's it. The screen has flickered a couple times since I plugged it in.

I am pretty sure that all of this adds up to the fact that there's something seriously wrong. I have no warranty. I bought it off eBay and I didn't even get software/USB cable with it so I can't connect it to a computer. I'm willing to go out and buy that though if that's what it will take to maybe fix it.

ANYWAY, anything anyone can suggest to me would be a big help. I'm a college student, and I have no money to go out and buy another Blackberry. I don't want to have to resort back to my old regular cell phone..

PLEASE HELP!!!

JSanders
12-09-2007, 09:34 PM
Welcome to the BB Forums.

I hope it isn't fried... First before anything else, remove the battery and leave it out a while. You will need a USB cable with one end a Mini-usb to match the charger connection, to do anything hopeful of resurrecting it. Also, download and install the Desktop Manager, get Version 4.2, Service Pack 2 withOUT the Roxio Media Manager (the smaller download).
BlackBerry Desktop Manager Downloads - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/BlackBerry_Desktop_Manager_Downloads)

Then you will need to follow these instructions:
How do I wipe the BlackBerry using Jl Cmder? - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F)
and this if needed: