PDA

View Full Version : BES activation required after firmware?


nc-chris
12-11-2007, 02:16 PM
A buddy of mine who is on a BES server via employer (but pays the bill personally) wants up upgrade to 4.2.2.176 to get VZ Navigator. I don't think this is the case, but will he have to go through the BES activation process again after the firmware upgrade? In his case, he would have to go through his IT dept and it would cause him a huge loss of productivity.

Can someone confirm that this is NOT the case? Thanks!

Chris

PS - I tried searching first in a few different ways, but couldn't find the answer. Thanks

NJBlackBerry
12-11-2007, 02:18 PM
You MUST rerun the BES Activation after upgrading the handheld OS, but if your laptop/desktop is connected to the corporate network during the upgrade, Enterprise Activation should occur automatically. He should note that sometimes EA does not successfully complete, which would require notifying IT.

nc-chris
12-11-2007, 02:37 PM
Thanks very much for the reply.

Can you clarify just a bit, though? This is a Lotus Notes BES environment, and they are not using a windows domain login. So, when you say "connected to the corporate network", are you assuming a windows/exchange environment, or do you mean via his laptop he needs to be connected to Notes via the Desktop Manager?

Thanks so much,

Chris

NJBlackBerry
12-11-2007, 02:41 PM
Laptop connected to Notes should work (either on a corporate LAN or via VPN). I am NOT a Notes customer...

misthos
12-12-2007, 09:36 AM
I do use Notes and as long as your desktop is connected to Notes the enterprise activation does work. I have done numerous upgrades with this method w/o problem.

vothweirdon
12-12-2007, 02:09 PM
With this release, 4.2.2.176, I had to actually remove myself from the BES server and re-add then re-activate to get it to work properly (see threads about not being able to reply to messages)

It's only a few minute process so I can't see how a huge loss of productivity would occur. Usually if you inform IT prior to doing it and what the known issues are (the remove and re-add) then they won't have an issue. It's when we get to trouble shoot your personal phones with no information up front about what has been done that gets us.

SDCromer
12-12-2007, 04:23 PM
I have upgraded the OS twice with my 8830 and had to go through an enterprise activation after each.

It was easy, just call the BES administrator and get a password, then start the activation from the handheld unit and let it run wirelessly. Takes about 30 minutes for our system.