PDA

View Full Version : Email without Data Plan???

azf100
06-26-2005, 12:00 AM
I am new to the Blackberry with Cingular and was wondering if there was any way to get e-mails (both POP from my personal account as well as from the Exchange server at work) without signing up for a full Cingular data plan as I feel I only need e-mail.

I've looked around the forums, but do not quite understand what the options are for e-mail only services. Looks like I will have to go to a 3rd party? I was looking at Link2exchange, they have a $9.99/month plan that looks like what I need. The only thing I'm not sure about is if you need to have a Cingular data plan on top of this for this 3rd party service to work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

mrogers
06-26-2005, 01:40 AM
If you're on Cingular service, you need the Cingular Blackberry Xpress data plan to do what you want to do.

rsun
06-26-2005, 04:31 PM
That's the thing that "sucks" about the plans, in addition to having a data plan, you have to have some sort of BlackBerry plan.

mrogers
06-26-2005, 10:40 PM
That's the thing that "sucks" about the plans, in addition to having a data plan, you have to have some sort of BlackBerry plan.

What? No. There are no "additional" data plans. On Cingular, I only have one data plan -- the BlackBerry one. That gets me my email and gets me online.

takeshi
06-27-2005, 08:20 AM
I am new to the Blackberry with Cingular and was wondering if there was any way to get e-mails (both POP from my personal account as well as from the Exchange server at work) without signing up for a full Cingular data plan as I feel I only need e-mail.