PDA

View Full Version : Creating folder for applications


md_ahte
12-17-2007, 07:12 AM
Is there any way that I could create a folder on my menu screen. I want to move all my installed applications onto that folder so that my menu screen doesn't look so cluttered. Anyone ?

greggebhardt
12-17-2007, 07:26 AM
On the Curve you can create a new folder but not sure about the 8800.

Just "hide" the unwanted icons and it will clean that home screen up!

jsntrenkler
12-17-2007, 08:29 AM
Yes you can on the 8830 .. Very simple.

Step 1 .. Hit the Blackberry Button to bring up all the icons of installed items.
Step 2 .. Hit the Blackberry Button again to bring up the Menu
Step 3 .. Select Add Folder
Step 4 .. Name the Folder & Select the icon you would like for the folder.
Step 5 .. Scroll over the application you would like to move
Step 6 .. Hit the Blackberry Button & Select Move
Step 7 .. Scroll over new folder and hit the Blackberry Button
Step 8 .. Select Complete Move

Your Menu item will now be in the new folder you just created.

md_ahte
12-17-2007, 11:53 AM
Yes you can on the 8830 .. Very simple.

Step 1 .. Hit the Blackberry Button to bring up all the icons of installed items.
Step 2 .. Hit the Blackberry Button again to bring up the Menu
Step 3 .. Select Add Folder
Step 4 .. Name the Folder & Select the icon you would like for the folder.
Step 5 .. Scroll over the application you would like to move
Step 6 .. Hit the Blackberry Button & Select Move
Step 7 .. Scroll over new folder and hit the Blackberry Button
Step 8 .. Select Complete Move

Your Menu item will now be in the new folder you just created.


I click the MENU button ... but I DONT see the Add Folder Option.
I see only 3 options:
MOVE APPLICATION
HIDE APPLICATION
SHOW ALL

Please help.
Mine is a 8800

x14
12-17-2007, 12:14 PM
You cannot create folders on the 8800. Only OS 4.2.2 and above has this function.

emado
12-18-2007, 03:57 PM
I just updated to 8830EFS_PBr4.2.2_rel339_PL3.0.0.79_A4.2.2.176_Bell_Mobility.exe and every time I create a new folder and move icons into it, they disappear. When I click on the folder, the icons I moved in there are gone. Once I delete the folder, the icons show up on the home screen again. Is this an issue with the new OS??? Or is there a workaround?