PDA

View Full Version : Question about data plan.


Cam Keo
12-17-2007, 11:47 AM
Hey,


I recently purchased a 8700C off of Ebay, while it's still in transport and I haven't received it yet, I do have a question.

My current AT&T plan has 1GB internet access. In order to use the browser on the BB, would I have to upgrade to a specfic "BB" plan, or will I be able to access the internet using my current plan like I have on previous phones?

Thanks for the help.

Cam

JSanders
12-17-2007, 12:20 PM
Cam, welcome to the BB Forums.

Your same question asked here, same answers apply:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/109935-do-you-need-special-blackberry-plan-your-bb.html

Good luck.

Cam Keo
12-17-2007, 01:35 PM
Thanks for the reply, I read the thread you linked, as well as the other information you linked there. I believe I understand it, but it leads me to more questions. The BB 8700C I've looked at before had 3 browsers. It had a "Cingular" browser, the BB Browser, and an HTML browser. Now, assuming I didn't have the BB plan, would all three of these browsers be unusable? I'm assuming the "Cingular" and the BB browser would be, but I was thinking the HTML browser may be operable. As far as 3rd party browsers you can use without a BB plan, what would be the best? I read that there is an Opera version. Is there anything else that may be better or about the same?

Thanks for the help.

Dubdub
12-17-2007, 03:12 PM
Since you just purchased your BB from ebay, make sure you take a look at this FAQ. Could save you some questions and problems: Buying a BlackBerry off eBay - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/Buying_a_BlackBerry_off_eBay)

BBHorrigan
12-17-2007, 03:32 PM
Also if you are going to activate your blackberry on a corporate BES, remember that you are going to need a BES plan not a BIS plan.

Cam Keo
12-17-2007, 06:22 PM
No, this is for personal use, thanks for informing me though.


Does anyone else use a "generic" data plan? I'm using this more for texting, internet, and Instant Messaging (assuming I can download a client without having over the air downloading.) I'm going to attempt to use a 3rd party browser (reason for me inquiring as to rather or not there is a better browser than Opera.)

My phone plan is under my Fathers, so I don't know how well he will take having to upgrade to a Black Berry plan. I much rather attempt to use my current data plan, than ask to upgrade. Thanks for the help, I think I'll become a regular member at this forum....I hope I can contribute after I learn the basics.

Thanks,
Cam

JSanders
12-17-2007, 06:37 PM
Yes, many others use generic plans, it is iffy as to what will work and what won't until you try it. OM should work. There is no other for a generic data plan.
I am not trying to tell frustrate or disappoint you, but for all functions to work as intended, the BB Data Plan is needed. Otherwise, you will get what you get, and honestly, you won't know for sure until you try it.

Cam Keo
12-17-2007, 07:22 PM
Thank you. That makes sense, really. I guess I should have done more research before just purchasing....Didn't even consider the need for a special plan. I'm sure I'll get it all worked out, thank you for your patience and help, and not the typical "OMFG GOOGLEZ NOOBZ!!!".


Thanks.

Cam

captthomason
12-18-2007, 09:44 AM
I bought a 8700c off eBay and got what I paid for. I was using a Nokia 6126 with 200 txt msgs. Now I'm using the BB w/o a data plan. All I'm doing is TXT. In a month or so I'll add the data, when I get that raise. ;-)