PDA

View Full Version : How to load old settings on new phone?


suicidepact
12-19-2007, 12:00 AM
Hi all, I haven't been here in a while because my 8830 was stolen. So today I finally received my replacement 8830. So my big question is: how do I add my previous data to my new phone? The other information you'll want to know ids that I did a complete backup recently using DM (files are called Backupxx.ipd and LoaderBackupxx.ipd) and also backed to my Mac, so that I'm well covered, though i'm using WinXP right now. The handsets are identical except for the PINs (I believe). I want to make sure I do this right so that I don't wipe my old data, but I'd like to copy as much as possible to my new phone. I realize I'll need to use DM, and the Switch Device Wizard options don't seem to fit my situation, and I'm unsure which option would be best using the Backup and Restore function.
I've RTFM, and used the SEARCH function, but haven't had muck luck. Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

JSanders
12-19-2007, 12:45 AM
You can use Restore, advanced, to restore portions of the old backup to the new device, with no harm.

John Clark
12-19-2007, 01:17 AM
I don't see a problem with just doing a full restore of the old .ipd file to the new device. That's what I'd do. Doing that will replace any data that is on the new device.

suicidepact
12-19-2007, 01:30 AM
Cool, thanks for the help. There is no information on the BB yet. The only interesting thing DM is saying is that the apps on the BB are newer than the ones on DM, which I guess means that there was a recent firmware update for the VZW BB's that I missed, or that I should un-install, then re-install DM before proceeding with this phone (I'll backup my backups first).
A quick question though: Is my previous information set for a different PIN than the new one I have now? I don't know if PINs are assigned to the user or to the BB.

John Clark
12-19-2007, 02:13 AM
Yeah, just install the OS that is on your new 8830 to your PC and that message should go away and quit asking you to downgrade.

You can still restore your backup to your device without having to go through the application loader. All will be fine.

The only thing tied to your PIN is your email. You'll need to go to the Verizon BIS site and change your PIN to your new device PIN if the old one is still there.

suicidepact
12-19-2007, 02:21 AM
Copy, and thanks again for the help. BTW- should the full backup load all my old 3rd party apps, or will I need to re-install those?

John Clark
12-19-2007, 02:27 AM
No, 3rd party apps aren't included in a standard backkup. For backup of 3rd party apps you have to follow the procedure here:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/rim-software/91912-how-backup-restore-all-installed-3rd-party-apps.html

suicidepact
12-19-2007, 10:43 PM
Thanks again for the help and advice. I'll be sure to use JL_Cmdr once I get my BB to a savable state. I wish I'd done this before I had my BB stolen. Just a word of advice to everyone else:
BACKUP YOUR STUFF !!!
All of it, anything that can be saved, do it. I'm just glad I have double backups using two OS's.

JSanders
12-19-2007, 11:02 PM
Hey, I'm glad you do, too!

Smart!

John Clark
12-19-2007, 11:57 PM
Yep, and that 3rd party app backup is a real bonus if you ever need to use it. Saves a lot of time!