PDA

View Full Version : Unable to Activate


mpaquette
01-23-2008, 11:08 AM
I'm new to the BlackBerry environment and it has been very frustrating.

I'm trying to activate a BB 8830 but the screen just sits at the activating message. My BB Manager screen shows the device and the status is Running. I had to physically connect the BB to the BB server in order for the two to talk. It sure would be nice to do this over the air. I turned on OTA in the BB Server Configuration screen but had no luck.

How do I activate my 8830?

BlackBerry's documentation really stinks.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 11:11 AM
Welcome to the forums. Have you activated any other devices on the BES?
Is this device provisioned for BES access?

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 11:14 AM
This is my first attempt at activating a device on the BES. I do not know what you mean by provisioning for BES access. Please advise.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 11:17 AM
The device has to be provisioned for BES access through your carrier. It shows your carrier as Nextel. I would start by calling them and verifying that it is provisioned for BES access.

Also, do you have any other devices to attempt an activation on?

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 11:19 AM
We were supposed to be Nextel but went with Verizon. I will check with Verizon to see if these two 8830's are provisioned for BES access. I will post findings when I have more information.

Yes, I have two test devices to provision at this time. Once I get the hang of it there will be more.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 11:20 AM
I forgot you mentioned 8830s in the post. DUH!

Let us know your findings.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 11:23 AM
Also, do you know what version of BES you are running?

What mail platform (exchange, domino, groupwise)?

Mods, could you please move this to the BES Admin Corner, thanks!

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 11:33 AM
Good question. Server Configuration shows 4.1.4.12 but Help>About shows 4.1.4.15.

I'm running in an Exchange 2000 AD environment.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 12:17 PM
Thanks for the info. Any luck with verizon??

Also, make sure your Blackberry services are running.

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 02:47 PM
I spoke with Verizon tech support. They had me run diagnostics which showed no problems. They had me wipe the device clean but I am still unable to activate with BES. I am able to send PIN-PIN between the two 8830's. Verizon says I need to contact BB tech support for help on BES. Now I have to convince this company to pay for support.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 02:51 PM
Do you ever get the ETP.dat activation email?

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 03:10 PM
No, I never receive any emails on the 8830 during the activation process.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 03:19 PM
Not on the device, in your mailbox. Check you inbox of any odd looking email, possibly in your trashcan too.

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 03:28 PM
The only items in the Inbox for the user are two emails that contain the activation password and a test email I sent from BES. That's it.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 03:31 PM
Just for the sake of it, have you tried a wired activation?

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 03:37 PM
I did plug the 8830 into the BES servers USB port. That is how I got BES to recognize the device. This seems foolish. I don't feel I should have to plug a device into the server each time I want to add one. I did try an activation while plugged into the BES server but got the same results.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 03:38 PM
You shouldn't have to. I Prefer wireless activations. I just was wondering if you had any success with a wired activation. Are all the blackberry services running?

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 03:48 PM
All the BB services are running except BlackBerry Database Consistency Service; it is set to disabled.

I would love to know how to setup over-the-air installs. We used Treo's and GoodLink before BB and it worked great.

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 04:34 PM
Update: I took the second 8830 that had never been connected before and added it to BES. I added the user then connected the 8830 to the server via USB cable. I then right-clicked on the user in BES and chose Assign Device from the list. The phone activated successfully.

I deleted the other problem user and re-added it using the same steps as above and it activated successfully.

Now I have to figure out why I can't send email from the devices.

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 04:36 PM
Good to know you were able to get them activated. What happens when you send a message? Do you get a red X? If so, open the message and what does it say next to status?

mpaquette
01-23-2008, 04:45 PM
Status says "Desktop Email program unable to submit message".

jsconyers
01-23-2008, 04:47 PM
I am not overly familiar with Exchange, but I have heard of this before on the forums. It may be this:

BlackBerry Search Results (http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB12300&sliceId=SAL_Public&dialogID=9130481&stateId=0%200%205470776)

I am sure someone with more knowledge with exchange will correct me if this isnt correct.

wongk
01-24-2008, 10:00 PM
Hi i've got a very similar problem since upgrading our BES to 4.1.4.15 from 4.0
Current BlackBerry devices are working ok but every time i try to add a new Blackberry device it gets stuck on Activating for a real long time and then just time out.
There is currently a 7290 that i just cant get activated. I have wiped the device, reset device and it just hangs on ACtivating and then eventually times out...please help...

mpaquette
01-25-2008, 10:41 AM
I've had the most luck by stopping the BlackBerry Router service on the BES server and waiting no less than 20 minutes before restarting it.

I came in this morning and was able to activate my BB 8830 over-the-air.

All I can suggest is checking and rechecking your permissions.

jsconyers
01-25-2008, 10:47 AM
That is good to hear mpaquette. Are you still having options sending messages from the device?

bbuser1
01-25-2008, 07:29 PM
Have an 8830, I went to activate it over the air via host routing table options, says that registration message sent but I never get a reply back saying the BB was registered.
How long should it take to get a message saying the BB is registered?

Its on the Bell Canada network.

Thanks for any info.

mpaquette
01-25-2008, 08:47 PM
I am still having problems activating a new 8830. What seems to work is restarting the BlackBerry Router service on the BES server. After the restart of the service the device activates right away. This doesn't seem right at all. I have 3 or 4 more to activate so we will see how those go in comparison.