PDA

View Full Version : Anything else I need to do (pre-sale "clean" of BB's)


Seand1111
02-05-2008, 10:55 AM
I've got two 8310's on the way, so I am going to give my sister my 8700c and sell my 8100. What all do I need to do to make sure the next person gets these with a "clean slate" so to say?

This is what I plan so far;

1. Wipe both of them
2. Delete email accounts
3. Delete applications
4. maybe wipe again?
5. Make sure they are unlocked

Do I need to do anything else before I git rid of them?

Seand1111
02-05-2008, 10:57 AM
And yes, if anyone wonders, both are new (less than a week old) but my wife can not get used to the Pearl and its keyboard, I like the roller ball on it but like my keyboard better, so looks like the 8310 is the best of both worlds...

JSanders
02-05-2008, 10:58 AM
And remove the PIN from your BIS account.

I would also fully charge the battery and remove it for shipping... then the user gets a fresh battery upon arrival = happy buyer.

JSanders
02-05-2008, 10:59 AM
but my wife can not get used to the Pearl and its keyboard,

ah, proven scientific fact that it takes a full two weeks to get used to the SureType. And then you love it.

Seand1111
02-05-2008, 11:05 AM
And remove the PIN from your BIS account.

I would also fully charge the battery and remove it for shipping... then the user gets a fresh battery upon arrival = happy buyer.


This really has me lost. I've never setup a BIS account, or did I since I use the BIS to get my email? On both phones I ran the setup wizard and entered my email addy when it asked for it, never set up a BIS account...I'm lost on this...

JSanders
02-05-2008, 11:08 AM
That is your BIS account, then. Yes, you did, just via the BB.

When you get the new one, you will already have an account with AT&T, and will only need to change device PINs to move the account to your new BB.

But if the PIN is still registered to your account, the recipient will be posting here wanting to know how come they get a message that their PIN is already registered on another account.

Seand1111
02-05-2008, 11:09 AM
That is your BIS account, then. Yes, you did, just via the BB.

When you get the new one, you will already have an account with AT&T, and will only need to change device PINs to move the account to your new BB.

But if the PIN is still registered to your account, the recipient will be posting here wanting to know how come they get a message that their PIN is already registered on another account.

Ok, where is the link to do this (delete my PIn that is)?

JSanders
02-05-2008, 11:11 AM
Where can I log into my BIS account? - BlackBerryFAQ.com (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/Where_can_I_log_into_my_BIS_account%3F)

Seand1111
02-05-2008, 11:32 AM
thanks!

complexx
02-05-2008, 12:08 PM
sorry for the thread hijack, however I just realized I setup 3 email accounts on my 8830 without ever setting up a BIS account... does this mean I'm using the BIS account of the old owner?

JSanders
02-05-2008, 12:10 PM
no, did you do it via the BB itself? Then you didn't need to create a BIS account, it is created.

complexx
02-05-2008, 12:12 PM
no, did you do it via the BB itself? Then you didn't need to create a BIS account, it is created.

That's good to hear. I did set them up via the BB itself. How would one go about finding out their BIS username and pass if they set the emails up via the BB? I need to fix my gmail filters...

JSanders
02-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Good question!

I can't login to my BIS site on my PC; I'm unable to log in via HTML Browser - BlackBerryFAQ.com (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/I_can%27t_login_to_my_BIS_site_on_my_PC%3B_I%27m_unable_to_log_in_via_HTML_Browser)

Seand1111
02-05-2008, 12:20 PM
That's good to hear. I did set them up via the BB itself. How would one go about finding out their BIS username and pass if they set the emails up via the BB? I need to fix my gmail filters...

Ha ha, I just pm'd him pretty much the same question...

takeshi
02-05-2008, 02:37 PM
Ok, where is the link to do this (delete my PIn that is)?
Note that you'll need to supply the PIN of a new BB or you'll need to call and have your carrier kill your BIS account.

Seand1111
02-05-2008, 02:46 PM
Note that you'll need to supply the PIN of a new BB or you'll need to call and have your carrier kill your BIS account.

Huh???

Seand1111
02-13-2008, 10:09 AM
Where can I log into my BIS account? - BlackBerryFAQ.com (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/Where_can_I_log_into_my_BIS_account%3F)

JSanders,

Quick follow up on this. I went and created my BIS account and now can nog in via a desktop, but when I go there to make sure to delete the other phones PIN, it only shows the current phones PIN (the Curve, not the 8700). I found the PIn under "Change Device", am I looking in the right place to find the PIN for the 8700?

Just want to make sure that all is in the clear before I out this 8700 and Pearl up for sale.

JSanders
02-13-2008, 10:16 AM
Yes, you are looking the right place. What takeshi was saying, you yourself cannot remove the PIN from an existing account. YOU can replace it with the new PIN of the new device.

If you don't have a new PIN, your carrier will need to kill the BIS account for you, since you can't place a null PIN in the "Change Device" option.

Did I just confuse things more?

Seand1111
02-13-2008, 10:22 AM
Yes, you are looking the right place. What takeshi was saying, you yourself cannot remove the PIN from an existing account. YOU can replace it with the new PIN of the new device.

If you don't have a new PIN, your carrier will need to kill the BIS account for you, since you can't place a null PIN in the "Change Device" option.

Did I just confuse things more?

With the seconf part, yes. I set up both Curves last night, both asked if I wanted to replace the PIN's from the 8700 and Pearl with the new device PIN's from the Curve's. I selected "yes". So the PIN's I currently see are those from the Curve's.

Question is; Where are the PIN's from the 8700 and the Pearl? Are they still assigned to my account (I do not see them)? Do I need to call ATT to make sure?

Ok, so that was more than one question. :oops:

JSanders
02-13-2008, 10:24 AM
No, you have cleared them now.

At the AT&T BIS site, you put the new PINs in the Change Device, and it accepted the new PINs, then the old 8700 pins are clear.

Sell away.

Seand1111
02-13-2008, 10:26 AM
No, you have cleared them now.

At the AT&T BIS site, you put the new PINs in the Change Device, and it accepted the new PINs, then the old 8700 pins are clear.

Sell away.

cool!!!!!! 8-)

Thanks for all the help, I am slowly starting to get all this BB stuff!!

JSanders
02-13-2008, 10:33 AM
Take care... my apologies as I can be a bit too verbose in explaining something simple at times.