PDA

View Full Version : RIM Outage/Downtime Feb 9


wumpus
02-09-2008, 03:47 AM
Anyone else having issues? BES integrated using AT*T. srptest shows failure to connect to srp.us.blackberry.net 3101.

Have seen issues since ~1AM EST 2/9/08

druss010
02-09-2008, 03:49 AM
I am having the same problem with 2 bes servers. Neither server can connect to srp.us.blackberry.net 3101.

druss010
02-09-2008, 03:50 AM
Just called Blackberry support. They said they are doing an upgrade and all should be fixed in 1 hour.

wumpus
02-09-2008, 03:52 AM
Do you (or anyone else) know if they post advance warning of upgrades or other planned outage information?

druss010
02-09-2008, 03:55 AM
We are a Blackberry Alliance Partner member and have access to their portal which is supposed to tell us about this stuff. Unfortantely this is all that is displayed on their partner site.

Communications Featured Announcement

Currently there are no communications in the spotlight.

Communications Announcements

No current communications available

wumpus
02-09-2008, 04:04 AM
Nice!

It's hard to believe, that with all of the public concern over RIM's ability to scale to meet demand, that they would simply just decide to perform upgrades or create an outage in an uncommunicated way.

Anyone else with issues??

flatfour
02-09-2008, 04:07 AM
Mine died at 01:05 Central according to router logs.

[30000] (02/09 01:05:39.765):{0x1014} [SERVICE_RELAY_SESSION:SXXXXXX:XXXXXXX] Disconnect session. IP=127.0.0.1

ricpac
02-09-2008, 04:22 AM
they don't usually post but i think there's some info on here that you can enroll yourself in a mailing list of some sort so you get news of an outage - not on your BB of course!

atuarre
02-09-2008, 04:39 AM
Do we know the length of time for the outage?

ricpac
02-09-2008, 04:44 AM
im not really sure but you can look it up on -= Dataoutages.com =- (http://www.dataoutages.com/)

armandov99
02-09-2008, 05:03 AM
Same here. Noticed at about 10 pacific I had no connectivity. At first I thought it may have been because I'm traveling....so I was gonna call in the morning. Tried provisioning and hard reset....nothing.

Then about 1 AM an email arrived. Browser didn't work though...until about 30 minutes later. Now all seems good to go, I'm posting from the BB.

I'm on sprint and running BIS.

walds11
02-09-2008, 05:08 AM
No yahoo emails coming through for me. I do have uppercase EDGE though. I haven't tried to access the internet.

So much for the RIM upgrade that a poster above noted. LOL!!!

NateHarris
02-09-2008, 05:13 AM
All US based BES servers offline for us. Any news yet? My engineer has been on hold with RIM for over 2 hrs now.

sboardsti
02-09-2008, 05:17 AM
I have 3 servers with SRP disconnected and 1 showing connected. Anyone find out whats going on? Or does someone have a service outage annoucement they can post here?

vlalra
02-09-2008, 05:17 AM
Same here, I am on BIS and have no blackberry internet, but my Opera works. I have just recently go to the Big EDGE. Whats going on?

Digitac
02-09-2008, 05:18 AM
10 US based servers offline here. European and Asia servers seem fine. Still on hold with RIM.

Oddly enough, it looks like our NY server was able to connect for a ffew minutes about an hour ago and process some messages, but the rest have been offline since 11pm PST/ 2am EST.

flatfour
02-09-2008, 05:27 AM
We have T Support and usually get advanced notice of outages.
This one was a surprise. Going thru the motions of a support call so I dont get yelled at by the directors on Monday. I really wish they would put an outage recording on so I can get some zzzzz

NateHarris
02-09-2008, 05:54 AM
If I ran my business like this, I would not have one very soon. I have 3 resources tied up in this and RIM won't even answer their phones.

Nopiet
02-09-2008, 06:29 AM
Yup. SRP connection dropped at 9:05 Hawaii time. Still down as of 1:28 HST. Carrier is Verizon Wireless.

dark_15
02-09-2008, 06:38 AM
It's been down since 2:06 AM here. Only thing we can do is hurry up and wait.

BigA
02-09-2008, 06:38 AM
I just got an email from my gmail account via BIS. I am also on a BES trying to trouble shoot why by BES was unable to connect to srp.na.blackberry.net... Low and behold I check this board an what do you know. Thanks RIM.

Mental Note: Check Blackberryforums.com before spending hours trouble shooting BES, switches, routers, firewalls and Blackberries...

I am going to bed now..

BigA
02-09-2008, 06:44 AM
RIM is slowly coming back up. I can contact 206.51.26.33:3101 but not 204.187.87.33:3101 ---> ERROR: recv() failed: Connection reset by peer (10054)

BigA
02-09-2008, 06:47 AM
One can only guess why the late shutdown. Maybe they are upgrading to the new release of 4.5...

flatfour
02-09-2008, 06:49 AM
Time for breakfast!!!!!!!

Digitac
02-09-2008, 06:57 AM
Yup, my servers are reconnecting now, but running slooooow. I suspect it will be a while before things are completely back to normal.

STILL on hold with RIM, over 2 hours and no one has picked up.

NateHarris
02-09-2008, 07:01 AM
We are seeing servers connect, and later drop again. I suspect there are a few billion emails waiting to go out, and RIM will be saturated for a while.

BigA
02-09-2008, 07:05 AM
Is it me or does anyone else here find it a little sloppy for RIM to just turn a cold shoulder when things get a little out of control??? I mean at the very least give us some sort of network status. I'll even take a stupid recording on T support that the network is down, so I don't have to wait on hold for hours on end.

jeffc68
02-09-2008, 07:06 AM
It seems back up not but why wasnt this upgrade announced?

flatfour
02-09-2008, 07:19 AM
I just got thru after 2 hours of that friggin music

Rep claimed that this was a planned window from 0700 to 1100 GMT with an expected 1 hour downtime.

When I asked why no notification, he claimed only T 4 and above get notice and I was SOL because we are only T 3

NJBlackBerry
02-09-2008, 07:21 AM
It was. It was announced to Tx4 and Tx5 support level customers as a scheduled outage between 0200-0600 (that was the windows) on 9 February.

BigA
02-09-2008, 07:25 AM
I just got thru after 2 hours of that friggin music

Rep claimed that this was a planned window from 0700 to 1100 GMT with an expected 1 hour downtime.

When I asked why no notification, he claimed only T 4 and above get notice and I was SOL because we are only T 3

You're kidding right,, T4 only cost $50,000. ;-)

So basically if I am a major carrier, then I get the notice.

penguin3107
02-09-2008, 07:31 AM
It was. It was announced to Tx4 and Tx5 support level customers as a scheduled outage between 0200-0600 (that was the windows) on 9 February.

Actually, I got that notification also, and I only have Tx2 support. Maybe an error on RIMs part that I got notified?

NateHarris
02-09-2008, 07:31 AM
Here is your answer friends:

Motorola Good Technology Group - Motorola & Good Technology Join Forces (http://www.good.com/corp/int_moto_good.php?id=445/)

penguin3107
02-09-2008, 07:35 AM
Here is your answer friends:

Motorola Good Technology Group - Motorola & Good Technology Join Forces (http://www.good.com/corp/int_moto_good.php?id=445/)

Um... yeah... OK.

NJBlackBerry
02-09-2008, 07:35 AM
Great idea. Motorola is in the tank and has done nothing with Good.

Go for it.

x14
02-09-2008, 08:05 AM
Actually, I got that notification also, and I only have Tx2 support. Maybe an error on RIMs part that I got notified?

I have Tx2 support and didn't get any notification about it.

NJBlackBerry
02-09-2008, 08:05 AM
Subscribe to dataoutages.com - the detailed announcements were sent out early this week.

JSanders
02-09-2008, 08:17 AM
-= Dataoutages.com =- (http://www.dataoutages.com)

John Clark
02-09-2008, 08:29 AM
Yep...I learned of this planned outage on the 31st of January, from the dataoutage.com list.

NJBlackBerry
02-09-2008, 08:33 AM
Darn good mods over there.

JSanders
02-09-2008, 08:35 AM
The best (y)

John Clark
02-09-2008, 08:36 AM
Well, most of 'em anyway! :razz:

Jumpin_Joe
02-09-2008, 08:42 AM
Here in Chicago, TMO BIS is not working for me. ATT BIS is fine. Called TMO and they said it should have been resolved by 6AM EST. They are over 2 hours late. The queue for PDA support is 26 minutes long at this point. I'm sure they are taking much heat over this.

Put myself in the queue for a callback - on my ATT BB :-)

JSanders
02-09-2008, 08:42 AM
I especially like the uniforms the dataoutage.com Mods get to wear.

http://www.cottonbalers.lynchburg.net/All_that_lace_1.jpg

jibi
02-09-2008, 08:53 AM
Here is your answer friends:

Motorola Good Technology Group - Motorola & Good Technology Join Forces (http://www.good.com/corp/int_moto_good.php?id=445/)
AT&T - 1-High Level Wireless Network Outage Location: West Region TT000006194472

Valued Customer,

This e-mail is to inform you of a network problem that MAY affect your Mobile Service.

Trouble Ticket Number: TT000006194472
Severity: 1-High
Description of Issue: Degradation of Good service
Location of Issue: West Region and surrounding areas

Start Time: Feb 08 2008 04:20 PM PST

Symptoms you MAY experience: Customers that utilize the Good service may be unable to send or receive messages.
Estimated time of repair: Unknown

It's easy to make an uneducated comment when you don't have all the facts, eh?

NJBlackBerry
02-09-2008, 09:03 AM
Jibi - never let the facts get in the way..

Soapm
02-09-2008, 10:59 AM
Anybody know what features were added?

Lucky me, I went to be early last night so slept through the whole thing...

Sith_Apprentice
02-09-2008, 11:01 AM
I especially like the uniforms the dataoutage.com Mods get to wear.

http://www.cottonbalers.lynchburg.net/All_that_lace_1.jpg

i think mods here need a uniform! anyone else with me? :razz:

audit
02-09-2008, 11:28 AM
i think mods here need a uniform! anyone else with me? :razz:

The Dataoutages Mod's get the cool uniforms, hdawg voted for these.

jibi
02-09-2008, 06:10 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8310/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102)

@<hidden>, it was general infrastructure maintenance not an upgrade.

For those interested, tonight's service relay infrastructure maintenance has been cancelled. I would think is based on last night's impact.

Sith_Apprentice
02-09-2008, 06:11 PM
a disturbance in the force.... 12 million customers cried out, and then were suddenly silenced

picturegrl
02-10-2008, 01:25 PM
My 7290 stopped receiving or sending email Friday around noon. As of today, Sunday at noon, I still can't send or receive email on the ATT network. I thought everyone was back up after the outage. I've tried hard and soft resets, nothing. I'm away on business and really need email at this time. Is there anyone else out there still down?

NJBlackBerry
02-10-2008, 01:43 PM
Call your carrier.
The outage ended at 7AM Saturday EST.