PDA

View Full Version : U.S. BBerry in Japan


slaughterj
02-19-2008, 10:43 PM
What's the latest on BBs usable in Japan? Note, I'm talking about taking a U.S. one (e.g., with AT&T) over to Japan and still getting email (as opposed to one set up with a Japanese carrier in Japan with Japanese text - which is what most net searches seem to discuss...months ago).

x14
02-19-2008, 10:45 PM
You need a 8707g from NTT DoCoMo USA.

BlackBerry - BlackBerry | BlackBerry 8707g (http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices/device-detail.jsp?navId=H0,C63,P183)

Dubdub
02-19-2008, 10:49 PM
Did you search the forums here? This has been asked many times.

Doubt if a US phone will work, unless it is WiFi capable. Japan uses a different technology and frequency that US devices. the only BB I know of that will work if the 8707v, but that is on GPRS capable in the US. Most people I know of rent a Japanese cell phone upon arrival at Narita.

The Verizon/Sprint 8830 world phones doesn't work in Japan either.

NJBlackBerry
02-20-2008, 09:04 AM
GSM based BlackBerrys will only work at Narita. So you'll be fine unless you leave the airport!

slaughterj
02-20-2008, 01:33 PM
Did you search the forums here? This has been asked many times.

Yes, I searched on here, as well as on Google, which gives a number of hits for this site. But nothing I found provided any recent information, and as I stated, I'm looking for the latest information (i.e., one might expect for a tech product, that new ones will come out from time to time, so a search isn't always going to give you that information).

Japan uses a different technology and frequency that US devices.

Thanks, I know that.

Most people I know of rent a Japanese cell phone upon arrival at Narita.

I'm not much worried about talking, I'm wanting to send/receive work emails, so rental isn't an option.

slaughterj
02-20-2008, 01:38 PM
You need a 8707g from NTT DoCoMo USA.

BlackBerry - BlackBerry | BlackBerry 8707g (http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices/device-detail.jsp?navId=H0,C63,P183)

On this RIM site (http://www.rim.com/products/handhelds/index.shtml), it only lists the 8707h for Japan, not 8707g - was your message a typo? (I saw a link to a site about using a "g" in Japan, but can't access the site itself, and that would seem like something they should mention on the link above if it did work??) Or can a few different models work in Japan (e.g., 8707v on a different search), but the 8707h is *the* one being promoted for such use?

The 8707h is also mentioned elsewhere (http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-8700-series-discussion/44872-blackberry-global-edition-8707h.html) as not having EDGE - so how's that affect my ability to send/receive emails in the U.S. and otherwise?

(Note, clicking on the 8707h on the above link takes you to another site (BlackBerry (http://www.blackberry.com/ap/products/blackberry8700/blackberry8707h.shtml)) which notes its use in Japan (though not for Japanese character input, which I don't need anyway).)

Dubdub
02-20-2008, 02:23 PM
The 8707 series as I understand it is a European model, so my guess is they are all essentially the same. The one I am familiar with the is Vodaphone version, 8707v which is GPRS only in the US.

Web browsing, email, VPN connections, Instant Messenger (AOL, ICQ, MSN Messenger) are services compatible with GPRS. Just don't expect blazing speed, something a bit slower than dial up can be expected.

NJBlackberry pretty much summed it up, I think.

monkeypaw
02-20-2008, 02:40 PM
8707g and h just seem to be slightly different flavors.

8707h Network:
850/900/1800/1900 MHz GSM/GPRS and 2100 MHz W-CDMA networks

8707g Network:
850/900/1800/1900 MHz GSM/GPRS and 2100 MHz UMTS networks

BlackBerry (http://www.blackberry.com/ap/products/handhelds/blackberry8707g.shtml)
BlackBerry (http://www.blackberry.com/ap/products/handhelds/blackberry8707h.shtml)

Perhaps g is sold in the US and h in Asia???
NTT DoCoMo USA || namikiteru || BlackBerry 8707g (http://www.namikiteru.com/en/bb8707g/index.html)

"* This product available to U.S. residents only.
* Activation of the BlackBerry 8707g must be handled directly with your wireless service provider."

slaughterj
02-20-2008, 02:49 PM
The 8707 series as I understand it is a European model, so my guess is they are all essentially the same. The one I am familiar with the is Vodaphone version, 8707v which is GPRS only in the US.

They appear largely the same for networks, but different as monkeypaw noted (and see: List of BlackBerry Models) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_BlackBerry_Models)).


Web browsing, email, VPN connections, Instant Messenger (AOL, ICQ, MSN Messenger) are services compatible with GPRS. Just don't expect blazing speed, something a bit slower than dial up can be expected.

Thanks!

NJBlackberry pretty much summed it up, I think.

Um, I only see his post about using bberrys in Narita airport, are you referring to something else?

slaughterj
02-20-2008, 02:51 PM
8707g and h just seem to be slightly different flavors.

8707h Network:
850/900/1800/1900 MHz GSM/GPRS and 2100 MHz W-CDMA networks

8707g Network:
850/900/1800/1900 MHz GSM/GPRS and 2100 MHz UMTS networks

BlackBerry (http://www.blackberry.com/ap/products/handhelds/blackberry8707g.shtml)
BlackBerry (http://www.blackberry.com/ap/products/handhelds/blackberry8707h.shtml)

So what's the meaningful difference between those two 2100 MHz networks?

Perhaps g is sold in the US and h in Asia???
NTT DoCoMo USA || namikiteru || BlackBerry 8707g (http://www.namikiteru.com/en/bb8707g/index.html)

"* This product available to U.S. residents only.
* Activation of the BlackBerry 8707g must be handled directly with your wireless service provider."

Heh, my next question was where to even buy the 8707h - it isn't on ebay, general searches to buy it, etc. - the closest I see if a link to NTT DOCOMO to contact them about the unit!

monkeypaw
02-20-2008, 03:37 PM
So what's the meaningful difference between those two 2100 MHz networks?



Heh, my next question was where to even buy the 8707h - it isn't on ebay, general searches to buy it, etc. - the closest I see if a link to NTT DOCOMO to contact them about the unit!

I don't know what the difference in the networks is. You'll have to Google to figure that out. They seem to be similar. I think the 8707g is available in the US and the 8707h somewhere else.

I don't have any personal experience with using BB in Japan, so barring some other user user posting, you have to do the final leg work in contacting AT&T and Docomo US.

fusky
02-20-2008, 03:54 PM
Get the 8707g from NTT DoCoMo USA.

We have 2 users in Japan using them with AT&T SIMs. It works perfectly.

NTT DoCoMo USA usually takes 2+ weeks though to deliver the device once it is ordered.

crossbones
02-21-2008, 05:58 AM
You need a 3g gsm blackberry. As what used to be Vodafone Japan uses 3g. The rest of Japan use a completly different technology to the rest of the world.

This i salso known as UMTS so the 8707v and the 8707h are the only ones that will work. Unless the US has a different 3g blackberry. I believe w-cdma is the same but runs on a different frequency to UMTS but with the same protocals, It may work but I can't gurantee that!

slaughterj
02-22-2008, 02:29 PM
Get the 8707g from NTT DoCoMo USA.

We have 2 users in Japan using them with AT&T SIMs. It works perfectly.

NTT DoCoMo USA usually takes 2+ weeks though to deliver the device once it is ordered.

Thanks for the info!

Do your users in Japan also use the same blackberries in the U.S.? My tech dept is telling me they can only hook one up to my account (I currently have an 8700c), and if I use the 8707 in the U.S., it doesn't get EDGE network so I would always be roaming, so I seem to be in a bit of a quandry (can't hook up both, but can't solely use an 8707 in U.S.).

Or are they able to simply swap the SIM cards between units and there is no problem with receiving email? (I thought the tech people needed to do *something* to make them work.)

ckent
02-22-2008, 02:35 PM
We purchased 8707s directly from RIM a couple of months ago and got them within two days. When our folks travel to Japan we pull their SIM cards and swap out for the 8707 devices, not the most elegant of solutions, but it works.

fusky
02-22-2008, 02:57 PM
Thanks for the info!

Do your users in Japan also use the same blackberries in the U.S.? My tech dept is telling me they can only hook one up to my account (I currently have an 8700c), and if I use the 8707 in the U.S., it doesn't get EDGE network so I would always be roaming, so I seem to be in a bit of a quandry (can't hook up both, but can't solely use an 8707 in U.S.).

Or are they able to simply swap the SIM cards between units and there is no problem with receiving email? (I thought the tech people needed to do *something* to make them work.)

It works fine in the US for us (I set them up here in the US and shipped them to Japan). AT&T SIM with the 8707g. They have the unlimited international roaming plan on their accounts.

No SIM card swapping needed.

monkeypaw
02-22-2008, 03:23 PM
snip

My tech dept is telling me they can only hook one up to my account (I currently have an 8700c), and if I use the 8707 in the U.S., it doesn't get EDGE network so I would always be roaming, so I seem to be in a bit of a quandry (can't hook up both, but can't solely use an 8707 in U.S.).

snip

With AT&T, you should get a connection with GSM and GPRS. It's not as fast as EDGE, but shouldn't be roaming.

stewsan
02-23-2008, 07:34 PM
I've been using the 8707v, (all the 8707 series will work in Japan) for a couple of years and it works everywhere in Japan. Now I have the 8320 Curve with T-mobile and use that instead. I carry a small wifi that I plug in when I'm in hotel rooms so I can use UMA and also the e-mails. Wifi is very common place in Japan and then I also have free calls back to the USA. I'm not sure about the comment about using GSM in Narita airport. I've never seen that but of course I'm only in the airport about 10 days a month. As far as swapping sim cards, unless your tech dept. has some block, switching sim cards can be done in a matter of minutes. If you have a friend with an unlocked BB you can give it a try.

aghoo90272
07-24-2008, 02:28 PM
So, Stewsan, may i confirm that T-Mobile Curve would work in Japan (not just at Narita) using UMA access?

aghoo90272
07-24-2008, 02:29 PM
Also, does anyone know if I can rent a Blackberry at Narita to be used in Japan?

monkeypaw
07-24-2008, 05:18 PM
So, Stewsan, may i confirm that T-Mobile Curve would work in Japan (not just at Narita) using UMA access?

I was in Tokyo in May for about 10 days, and this does work, however it's not the easiest thing to find an open network. Also most of the time I could find a network where I could download my email, but calling did not work.

In Narita I tried for about an hour while waiting to leave and could never find any network that I could use. However someone posted Tmobile's list of Hotspots and the ANA lounge and one other were hotspots. But I think they have a roaming charge for calls at least. Maybe data would just get through without a charge.

Google comes up with this for phone rental:
NARITA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT OFFICIAL WEBSITE - Airport Guide:Useful facilities & services. (http://www.narita-airport.jp/en/guide/service/list/svc_19.html)

aghoo90272
07-24-2008, 08:04 PM
Thank you for the useful information.

stewsan
07-25-2008, 05:48 AM
Yes, the Curve from T-Mobile will work in Japan on UMA. I'm currently in Tokyo and it works very well. When I go out in the city and take it with me, I have to fine a hotspot to hook up on and now that I know where I can grab a signal, it's not a problem. It's neat, sitting in a coffee shop in the morning visiting with friends in the states. I use a BT headset and have learned over the years that it's not necessary to shout on a cell phone..... As mentioned previously, the 8707 works well also and I just slip my t-mobile sim card into it. It doesn't matter if it's a v,b,q,e,t model, it works.

If you do have problems hooking up to uma, take out the battery and do a hard restart. I've found, that once it hooks up to a wireless router, it hooks up easily to after that. Good Luck! It's hot here now, like you wouldn't believe....

stewsan
07-25-2008, 05:53 AM
Oh, about renting a blackberry in Japan, that's a No. In fact, as hard as it is to believe, individuals can not purchase one, only corporations. At least that's the way it was the last time I checked. Strange. Of course I also heard a rumor that they eat their fish raw....

ricpac
07-25-2008, 11:19 AM
We eat raw fish here too!

aghoo90272
07-26-2008, 01:52 AM
This is very helpful information. Thanks. On BB rental, I did find this online site that does it. Talked to them. They seem very professional. I guess with my T-Mobile Curve, I probably won't need their rental service. For those who might, you may try myjapanphone.com.

stewsan
07-26-2008, 02:14 AM
Thanks ricpac for that info. I'm hoping it's not coming out of Manila Bay.... And Ag, thanks for the link to rent a BB for use in Japan. I get asked that once in a while. I do think taking a wireless router along with your Curve is perfect for short trips, although I'm doing a stretch here now and I do switch over to my 8707 during the week. I see on the internet they are about $550 so better than the $750 I paid a couple years ago...

holden
08-20-2008, 09:08 PM
We purchased 8707s directly from RIM a couple of months ago and got them within two days. When our folks travel to Japan we pull their SIM cards and swap out for the 8707 devices, not the most elegant of solutions, but it works.

Ckent:
Who is your carrier? (At&t?)
Thx...
H.

holden
08-20-2008, 09:15 PM
It works fine in the US for us (I set them up here in the US and shipped them to Japan). AT&T SIM with the 8707g. They have the unlimited international roaming plan on their accounts.

No SIM card swapping needed.

I think you answered my question. Thanks...
So if I can get my hands on an 8707 (I need 3) or a Blackberry Bold I can send my managers over to Toyko with their existing AT&T sims and make sure they have international plans on their accounts and I am set?

H.

marchitect
09-28-2008, 04:41 PM
The Verizon/Sprint 8830 world phones doesn't work in Japan either.

The 8830 DOES work in Tokyo,
I can't verify for the rest of Japan. Here's a post I made from another thread.

Before arriving in Tokyo I called Sprint and they assured me my 8830 BB would work.
Well, here I am in Tokyo an it works to some degree.
In both the air port and in central Tokyo I get a roaming signal. I can't verify for the rest of the area but only for central Tokyo itself.
Here are the details from my phone under the "Services Status" screen:

Status: Roaming
Connection: Mobile Network
BB Internet Service Connection: Not Connected
BB Enterprise Server: Not Connected

Mobile Network - 4 bars (typically)
1x (not sure what this is)
Mobile network provider: International (not really a company like vodophone or similar)

So, It doesn't look like I can get any email or other data services here in Tokyo.

holden
09-28-2008, 08:05 PM
The 8830 DOES work in Tokyo,
I can't verify for the rest of Japan. Here's a post I made from another thread.

Before arriving in Tokyo I called Sprint and they assured me my 8830 BB would work.
Well, here I am in Tokyo an it works to some degree.
In both the air port and in central Tokyo I get a roaming signal. I can't verify for the rest of the area but only for central Tokyo itself.
Here are the details from my phone under the "Services Status" screen:

Status: Roaming
Connection: Mobile Network
BB Internet Service Connection: Not Connected
BB Enterprise Server: Not Connected

Mobile Network - 4 bars (typically)
1x (not sure what this is)
Mobile network provider: International (not really a company like vodophone or similar)

So, It doesn't look like I can get any email or other data services here in Tokyo.

marchitect;

Thanks for the update. Good info. to know. Let us know how your doing on Voice and Data once you get adjusted to everything over there...
H.

jpexpert
10-29-2008, 04:53 AM
JCR rents Japan based BB8707H model which allows BES & BIS connections w/FREE incoming calls. Data charges are minimal and the call rates are allot less than roaming rates. Suggest you use the call forwarding service from your US based phone. JCR will deliver the device in Japan or in the USA.

holden
10-29-2008, 05:59 AM
JCR rents Japan based BB8707H model which allows BES & BIS connections w/FREE incoming calls. Data charges are minimal and the call rates are allot less than roaming rates. Suggest you use the call forwarding service from your US based phone. JCR will deliver the device in Japan or in the USA.

Who is JCR? We used Cellhire out of the US last time and they sent us 8707g's.

We just got our first BOLD yesterday. I setup one of your tech managers.
Since we are planning another trip in the middle of November to mainland Japan, I am not sure if we can send them with AT&T cards and international data plans and if this will work on the BOLD.

Thx...