PDA

View Full Version : copying your address book

ph wakeboarder
03-02-2008, 01:01 AM
Im new to the blackberry pearl 8100 and i was wondering if i copy my contacts to the phone from the sim when it asks me too. If i broke my phone and had to put my sim card in another phone would i still have my contacts. When i go to my address book i can click on sim address book and all my numbers are still there, but i just wanted to double check just to be safe. Thanks for all the input.

JSanders
03-02-2008, 01:21 AM
yes, if they are on your SIM, they will be there when you move the SIM, as long as you don't add any to the Address Book.

That really is a not so good way to move your contacts, but possible.

Sith_Apprentice
03-02-2008, 01:23 AM
what you should do is backup to your computer to save your contacts. If you lose your device your SIM would be lost too so it wont matter if you have contacts on it or not.

Saffer
03-02-2008, 08:53 PM
SIM backup is important as you can then easily transfer between phones.

So is doing a backup using the desktop, but this does not allow you to transfer to another non BB phone.

So, can this be done or not?

John Clark
03-02-2008, 08:58 PM
It can be done. You have to sync with Outlook and then sync Outlook to the "other" phone. If that's not possible then sim card backup might be the best way. However, why would you want to go from BB to another cell phone except in a dire emergency??

TroyDBrown
03-02-2008, 08:59 PM
SIM backup is important as you can then easily transfer between phones.

So is doing a backup using the desktop, but this does not allow you to transfer to another non BB phone.

So, can this be done or not?

I have never used a SIM to backup. As JSanders stated lose the Phone you lose the SIM.

The SIM card is capable of saving Name and Phone number, That is easily reconstructed, I need the addresses, email address, notes etc.