PDA

View Full Version : Help! My 7250 frozen on menu screen, buttons don't work. Any ideas?


bb802
03-21-2008, 11:32 AM
I just purchased a RIM 7250 on ebay. It worked fine right away (for a day) then after the first charge started not responding to input commands. As soon as I removed the AC charger plug from the unit it just remained frozen on the menu screen. The clock continues to function but no buttons or keys will work, including the trackwheel and esc. I posted the same problem once before but have had no replies yet..sorry to ask again, but I know there must be a Jedi blackberry master out there with the answer to this puzzle???
Thanks for any help or ideas.

MrKyoo
03-21-2008, 11:33 AM
Pull the battery.

bb802
03-21-2008, 11:42 AM
Thanks for replying. I have removed/replaced the battery several times already and get the same results (i.e. frozen on the menu screen)

NJBlackBerry
03-21-2008, 11:49 AM
Beware the perils of buying a BlackBerry off of eBay.
Try to get your money back.

MrKyoo
03-21-2008, 11:56 AM
4. Recommend that you wipe the device and start fresh (optional): Buying a BlackBerry off eBay - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/Buying_a_BlackBerry_off_eBay)

bb802
03-21-2008, 11:58 AM
Thanks. I have emailed the seller (Dyscern) they are a big seller of PDA's on ebay. They have good customer service (or so I have heard). But do think there is no simple fix I can perform (I hate the idea of having to pay for shipping back to Dsycern)

mjgs1971
03-21-2008, 12:26 PM
Beware the perils of buying a BlackBerry off of eBay.
Try to get your money back.

I agree.

I think they'll also offer you a full refund, including shipment for unsuitable items returned in less than a month.

Good luck! (y)

bb802
03-21-2008, 01:57 PM
Thanks! Will try the above solutions (return to seller or try to wipe with jl_cmder)

bb802
03-23-2008, 09:17 PM
Dyscern (the ebay seller from whom I purchased my 7250) has really great customer service. They gave me all of the obvious solutions and when none of those worked they gave me a full refund. So I probably will just buy another 7250 from them and see if I have better luck. Thanks to all those who replied with helpful suggestions!

code11
04-01-2008, 01:34 PM
hey i just got the same phone and mine is doing the same thing what did you do? did you get fix if so how and where? or did u get your money back?

akosnitzky
04-01-2008, 02:25 PM
Keep us posted. I am speculating that moisture over time got into the device. I had the 7250 and it was a tank, but as a South Floridian moisture was an issue.

bb802
04-08-2008, 11:55 AM
code11, sorry to take so long to reply...I did get my money back, I tried everything I could think of then called Dyscern (eBay seller) and they gave me a full refund and I purchased another 7250 from them, which has been pretty good so far (except for one issue which I have to do a little research here first before I post about it)

dennis from baoding
04-17-2008, 05:07 AM
wipe the device and use the dm 4.1 may help