PDA

View Full Version : Some general 8830 questions

TheNx
03-25-2008, 08:36 PM
Hey everyone! I'm new to BB. I havent actually bought one yet, but planning to get the 8830 World edition. I had some questions that I hope someone can answer. My provider is Alltel.

1. How is the GPS system? Like how detailed is it?
2. How fast is the internet on it?
3. Can you use AIM on the BB?
4. Is it easy to put your own custom ringtones on the phone?
5. What's the maximum size memory card that can be used in it?
6. Is the internet through satellite? What I mean is if I don't get cell phone service can I still access the internet?

Thanks, this forum rocks!

TheNx
03-26-2008, 06:42 AM
bump

juwaack68
03-26-2008, 07:04 AM
Hey everyone! I'm new to BB. I havent actually bought one yet, but planning to get the 8830 World edition. I had some questions that I hope someone can answer. My provider is Alltel.

1. How is the GPS system? Like how detailed is it?
2. How fast is the internet on it?
3. Can you use AIM on the BB?
4. Is it easy to put your own custom ringtones on the phone?
5. What's the maximum size memory card that can be used in it?
6. Is the internet through satellite? What I mean is if I don't get cell phone service can I still access the internet?

Thanks, this forum rocks!

1. It depends on which application you use. I use both TeleNav and Google Maps depending on what I want. TeleNav is a subscription service and provides great audio & visual directions, as well as maps. However, I've found Google Maps (free) better if I just want to do a quick search for something and don't need the audio.

2. AllTel is CDMA device (faster than, say, AT&T or T-Mobile), and surfing is pretty fast, depending on what type of page you're loading and the strength of your wirless signal.

3. Yes.

4. Not sure about this. I've downloaded several from TuneUsIn - Free MP3 Ringtones, Blackberry Wallpaper, Blackberry Themes - For Your Blackberry or Mobile Phone (http://www.tuneusin.com/mobile)