PDA

View Full Version : Outlook Sync question


pvdiamon
04-20-2008, 07:25 PM
Okay, when I do a sync with Outlook for contacts/calendar, one way, BB to Outlook, it seems to delete everything on Outlook and then replace it with everything from the BB, rather than just add changes. Then, my Outlook Delete folder has over a thousand of those deleted entries. Is there a way to avoid that?

John

jtdarden
04-20-2008, 07:33 PM
select the sync both ways option rather than one way (PIM configuration)

pvdiamon
04-20-2008, 07:35 PM
Is there a place to be sure the BB wins in a conflict, using 2 way synch?

jtdarden
04-20-2008, 07:37 PM
Wirelessly posted (8xxx)

Yes, in the same PIM configuration settings, choose BB wins (or desktop wins, etc depending on your preference)

aiharkness
04-20-2008, 07:37 PM
Uncheck the refresh box below the import/export/sync selection (if you want to continue with the import instead of sync).

aiharkness
04-20-2008, 07:41 PM
Is there a place to be sure the BB wins in a conflict, using 2 way synch?

I would leave it set to notify, if I were you. Select re-sync when you want to do the sync over and direct the conflict resolution.

pvdiamon
04-20-2008, 07:43 PM
Thanks. Conceptually, would you mind explaining what is going on? If I do BB to Outlook, why is it erasing/adding? If I do 2 way sync, will it only add changes both ways, but let BB win in conflict if I direct it that way? Then what does the refresh box do?

John

aiharkness
04-20-2008, 07:59 PM
Thanks. Conceptually, would you mind explaining what is going on? If I do BB to Outlook, why is it erasing/adding? If I do 2 way sync, will it only add changes both ways, but let BB win in conflict if I direct it that way? Then what does the refresh box do?

John

From the help in desktop manager:

4. Select the synchronization operation type:

Note: Some systems do not support all synchronization operations.

Import: Transfers information from the PIM to the other application.

Export: Transfers information from the other application to the PIM.

Synchronize: Transfers information for both systems.

Refresh: Selecting Import or Export enables Refresh. If you are importing files, select Refresh to replace all records in one application with records from the main application. If you are exporting files, select Refresh to replace all records from one application with records from the other application.
Copyright (c) 1998 - 2006. Nokia Corporation. All rights reserved.

Doing sync will update the blackberry and Outlook based on the last change. If you change the same entry (say a contact) in both places, then there will be a conflict, and desktop manager act based on your configuration options settings. If you select notify, then you will be prompted. If you select blackberry wins, then Outlook will be updated based on the blackberry data, even you you had privously changed the Outlook entry data since the last sync.

Also from Desktop Manager help:

If a data conflict occurs, it is resolved using the selected conflict resolution setting for the application.

To select a conflict resolution setting for an application

1. Open the Advanced Settings dialog box.

2. Click the Conflict Resolution tab.

3. Select a conflict resolution setting and then click OK.

Add all conflicting items: Conflicting information is not merged or replaced. For each system, a new record containing the information on the other system is created.

Ignore all conflicting items: No changes are made to either system.

Notify me when conflicts occur: (default). You are prompted to determine how to resolve conflicts during synchronization.

Other Application Wins: The record on the PIM is replaced with the record from the other application.

PIM Wins: The record on the other application is replaced with the record from the PIM.

Copyright (c) 1998 - 2006. Nokia Corporation. All rights reserved.

pvdiamon
04-20-2008, 08:11 PM
Thanks!

pvdiamon
04-20-2008, 08:14 PM
Oh, I just realized where I get further confused with this. It's the dates. If I sync 2 ways, and let's say I select 100 days back and forwards for calendar. If there is MORE data on Outlook, but I said BB wins in a conflict, do I only get the 100 days forward and back that is already on the BB?

aiharkness
04-20-2008, 08:49 PM
Oh, I just realized where I get further confused with this. It's the dates. If I sync 2 ways, and let's say I select 100 days back and forwards for calendar. If there is MORE data on Outlook, but I said BB wins in a conflict, do I only get the 100 days forward and back that is already on the BB?

Should be easy enought to test and find out.

I have my blackberry calendar set to keep appointments forever and desktop manager set to transfer 999 days back and 999 days forward. By all appearances, calendar entries older than 999 days are removed when I sync. Don't know what would happen if resolution was set to blackberry wins . . . but would be easy enough to test.