PDA

View Full Version : BBMaps Icon


dshipmon
04-25-2008, 04:42 PM
I see that I have blackberry maps on my desktop manager and suppose to be installed on my BB, but I can't find the icon. Does anyone know where I can locate it. I tried the show all, but it's still not there.

JSanders
04-25-2008, 04:45 PM
Have you upgraded your OS lately?

Dinan3
04-25-2008, 04:48 PM
go to options > advanced options > applications
is it there?

dshipmon
04-25-2008, 04:49 PM
Have you upgraded your OS lately?

I just installed the desktop software. I never had BBMaps before, but since I installed the desktop software I now see BBMaps is there and in the applications but I don't see the icon.

dshipmon
04-25-2008, 04:49 PM
go to options > advanced options > applications
is it there?

Yes, I see it there but don't see the icon.

Dinan3
04-25-2008, 04:50 PM
pull the battery while the device is still on, wait 30 secs, and reinstall the battery

dshipmon
04-25-2008, 04:55 PM
pull the battery while the device is still on, wait 30 secs, and reinstall the battery


Did it and still no icon.

Dinan3
04-25-2008, 04:58 PM
SHOOT...you know what, i've just noticed that you are on with AT&T. currently, AT&T does not support BBMaps out of box...but this handy tutorial by John Clark will show you how to put it in...

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/112029-optimize-your-bb-how-setup-max-free-memory.html

sorry for the confusion....

dshipmon
04-25-2008, 05:00 PM
SHOOT...you know what, i've just noticed that you are on with AT&T. currently, AT&T does not support BBMaps out of box...but this handy tutorial by John Clark will show you how to put it in...

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/112029-optimize-your-bb-how-setup-max-free-memory.html

sorry for the confusion....

Thank you. I will check it out.

JSanders
04-25-2008, 05:00 PM
Read this thread here:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/112029-optimize-your-bb-how-setup-max-free-memory.html
See this section:
To Add BBMaps: (if you want it.)


**EDIT, Dinan got it...

JSanders
04-25-2008, 05:19 PM
Some newer OSs require a sevice book for BB Maps to enable. Your is likely that case, so resend service books, if it is also installed.

Stinsonddog
04-25-2008, 05:44 PM
For those of you getting attached to BBMaps, I suggest you also get familiar with Google Maps and Windows Live Search. Versions of BBM for the new OS's on the way are controlled by service books rather than hiding the icons and the process of getting the service books is even more complicated, so why not just use the easier programs. There is also Infospace Find It.

JSanders
04-25-2008, 05:46 PM
Agreed, I think BBMaps will be going the way of the dodo bird at this rate.