PDA

View Full Version : Newbie 7100v UK'er needs a little help

BadWolf
08-01-2005, 08:50 AM
I've just bought a 7100v from eBay. It's not even arrived yet!

I was wondering if I should unlock it and go with another network. It's simlocked to Vodafone right now.

I understand that Vodafone is quite expensive for data.

My current (non-smart) phone is on Virgin. Do Virgin even have a data tarrif?

What would you do?

Also, do I have to sign up to blackberry for get emails? I can't see where on the site I need to do this, if at all!

As you can tell I'm a realy newbie!

Thanks,

Rob

camerch
08-01-2005, 07:11 PM
Just do a search on the internet for BlackBerry rate plans for carriers in your area..

Just make sure that the plan that you get has a BlackBerry PDP, which means that your rate plan allows you access to the RIM NOC, ask your potential carrier for more details.

idencustom
08-02-2005, 02:49 AM
so you purchased a blackberry without any info at all???

7100v... can be unlocked with no problem. O2 and tmobile are your only choices. Are you in the UK?

BadWolf
08-02-2005, 02:55 AM
Basically yes. I've seen it demoed and liked it so much I wanted one.

I am in the UK. I've spent hours trwling through the various provider websites. Vodafone is particularly bad, IMO. Trying to find prices for data is hopeless.

What i really want is some to say "Well, what I would do is this...." Unlock it and go with O2/ Stick with Vodafone as they have _____ etc.

So Orange is a "No-go"?

Just a bit of advise.

b1ackb1rd
08-02-2005, 03:48 AM
Orange do offer Blackberrys for business customers, but don't publish data settings.

Any Voda shop in the High St will unlock the phone for about £20, then you can use these good pages to upgrade the software.

Virgin don't support Blackberry unfortunately, I've just ported my old Virgin mobile number to Vodafone ... very easy to do, call customer services for a PAC code and it takes about a week to be actioned.

Hope this helps

BadWolf