PDA

View Full Version : Confused in Japan

Iago09
05-12-2008, 08:41 AM
Hey all, I'm a newbie. I'm thinking of buying a BlackBerry as an alternative to the iPhone. From what I've seen of them, they seem to be what I'm looking for in a device. Only one tiny problem, I live in Japan and when I asked the DoCoMo people about getting one, they politely told me that I have to be part of a corporate plan to get one. Is that BlackBerry Wide, or some crazy Japanese thing? Is there anyway that I can get one in Japan with service that isn't equivilant to a mortgage payment? Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Iago09:?

JSanders
05-12-2008, 08:54 AM
As I understand, the 8707 is only available for use in Japan on the DoCoMo network.

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/118605-u-s-bberry-japan.html

bostonnerd
05-12-2008, 08:58 AM
As I understand, the 8707 is only available for use in Japan on the DoCoMo network.

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/118605-u-s-bberry-japan.html

The just announced model supports UMTS 2100mhz (same as the 8707) so it should work on DoComo

BBAdmin
05-12-2008, 09:09 AM
You'll need the 8707 or the 9000.

Dubdub
05-12-2008, 03:29 PM
If you live in Japan, my advice is to buy a Japanese device. Their network is basically a proprietary one right now with the frequency bands they use. Plus support would also be an issue for you. Non-Japanese devices typically do not work very well if at all.

Iago09
05-15-2008, 09:03 PM
That's unfortunate. The devices are limited to mayb one or two, and like I said, they won't sell me one unless I'm on a corporate contract....and I'm not. What a frustrating country.

teamcrn
05-15-2008, 09:07 PM
That's unfortunate. The devices are limited to mayb one or two, and like I said, they won't sell me one unless I'm on a corporate contract....and I'm not. What a frustrating country.