PDA

View Full Version : Blackberry 7130e Verizon to Alltel


jaythebull
05-20-2008, 07:46 AM
I recently moved - and had to switch from Verizon to Alltel. I thought I could give the BB up and just went with a regular phone. Six months later - I am hating it.

Last night I loaded Alltel's most current BB software to the 7130. Everything seemed to go fine and it booted back up after completion. Is there anyway I can confirm that it is running Alltel software now?

And . . . does anyone know if Alltel will be able to activate it over the phone (over the air) - or will I need to pop in a store.

Many thanks.

Jay

JSanders
05-20-2008, 08:52 AM
Jay, you can look at your Options > About to see what the OS version is you have. It won't say "Alltel", but the OS version number should tell you that your OS upgrade loaded.

But you don't need Alltel's OS to operated the device on Alltel... it will need unlocking from Verizon. I just am not familiar enough with Alltel to know offhand, some CDMA network carriers like Verizon will not allow other devices purchased from other sources on their network.
How do I unlock my BlackBerry? - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/How_do_I_unlock_my_BlackBerry%3F)

jaythebull
05-20-2008, 08:53 AM
Thank you. Just what I was looking for.

jaythebull
05-20-2008, 09:04 AM
Hi I noticed it mentioned a sim card menu - this phone does not accept sim cards. Any ideas on that?


BlackBerry 6xxx 7xxx: ie 6230, 7100, 7290 etc. Unlock Code Instructions

1. Select Options menu on BB.

2. Select SIM CARD menu. To be able to see this you have to type this on the keypad on phone : (TEXT WILL NOT APPEAR ON THE SCREEN until you enter the unlock code)

3. Type 'MEPD' for all models, except 7100 in which case in case use 'MEPPD'.

4. Usually you should see "active" NET lock. In order to disable this lock, type 'MEP2' respectively ('MEPP2' if phone is 7100)

5. The BB will ask for a code. NOTE: You must use the "alt" or "shift" key to enable numbers so example would be: m-e-p-"alt key"-2 Now you should see the place to enter your net unlock code.(if not, you didn't type in mep2 or mepp2 properly.)

6. Here you must enter the "NET Unlock Code" that you have

blackmanbeatbopper
05-20-2008, 04:24 PM
Then I don't think it can be unlocked to switch carriers. I'm with Bell (CDMA), and it just can't be done.

Dawg
05-20-2008, 04:44 PM
Verizon Bbs cant be used on alltel

jaythebull
05-21-2008, 08:25 AM
Anyone want to buy a Verizon 7130? :) I upgraded to the Curve last night.

Dawg
05-21-2008, 08:26 AM
post it in the buy sell section

jaythebull
05-21-2008, 08:28 AM
Will do thanks for the suggestion. I hate to give it up, my first BB love.

zerog46
05-21-2008, 08:31 AM
Might want to just keep it as a back up, you won't get to much for it, it's an older device.

Dawg
05-21-2008, 08:35 AM
ebay you will get the most for it