PDA

View Full Version : 8800 or 8820 without data plan on Rogers network


spencer88
05-27-2008, 11:33 AM
Hi,

I need a smart phone and I've narrowed down my choices to BB 8800 and BB 8820. I need the phone in order to have Internet connection over wi-fi. Here are my questions.

1. Can I connect to Internet, browse and check my webmail with wi-fi completely independent (without charge) from the Rogers network (I'll be using Rogers network for my cell phone)?

2. Can I make free phone calls (without charge from Rogers) using application like Skype from BB if I'm connected to wi-fi network?

3. I'm planning to buy the BB on eBay (I already read the FAQ here Buying a BlackBerry off eBay - BlackBerryFAQ (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/Buying_a_BlackBerry_off_eBay)) and most BB there are from AT&T. Would I have any problems on the Rogers network if I buy one of these phones?

3. Any major drawback in not having a data plan (I will use webmail exclusively and I don't care for the BB email capabilities - I just need wi-fi PDA cell phone combo)?

4. Which one would you recommend 8800 or 8820? What are the important differences between the two?



Thanks for your time!

supercat25
05-27-2008, 01:16 PM
I can answer some of your questions.

I have a Cingular 8800 now AT&T it will only work if it is unlocked.

Main difference between 8800 and 8820, 8820 has Wi-Fi.

spencer88
05-27-2008, 01:21 PM
I can answer some of your questions.

I have a Cingular 8800 now AT&T it will only work if it is unlocked.

Main difference between 8800 and 8820, 8820 has Wi-Fi.

Thanks,

I read in one of the eBay descriptions for 8800 that the phone has wi-fi. I guess it was wrong description?

Klotar
05-27-2008, 01:49 PM
The 8800 does not have Wi-Fi.

Also, in order to do ANYTHING data/phone-wise on your Wi-Fi network, you need a Blackberry Data Plan. Yes, even browsing.

spencer88
05-27-2008, 01:53 PM
The 8800 does not have Wi-Fi.

Also, in order to do ANYTHING data/phone-wise on your Wi-Fi network, you need a Blackberry Data Plan. Yes, even browsing.

Does this mean that I can't connect to my home wi-fi network and browse for example without a data plan?

Dubdub
05-27-2008, 02:20 PM
Also, there is no SKYPE like application for a BB,, EDGE just doesn't have the bandwidth to support VoIP applications, as I understand it. The rumored 9000 is supposed to be able to do that sort of calling however, just depends on the carrier.

spencer88
05-27-2008, 02:39 PM
Also, there is no SKYPE like application for a BB,, EDGE just doesn't have the bandwidth to support VoIP applications, as I understand it. The rumored 9000 is supposed to be able to do that sort of calling however, just depends on the carrier.

Thanks,

If I can't make VoIP calls with BB that wouldn't be a big deal, however beign able to be online using wi-fi, without having to go through my cell phone network (without data plan) is crucial. So my question is:

Can I connect to Internet with BB 8820 with its wi-fi capability, without a data plan?

JSanders
05-27-2008, 02:41 PM
Specifically for you... How to use BlackBerry on Generic Data Plan - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/How_to_use_BlackBerry_on_Generic_Data_Plan)
It should answer several of your questions.

spencer88
05-27-2008, 03:22 PM
Specifically for you... How to use BlackBerry on Generic Data Plan - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/How_to_use_BlackBerry_on_Generic_Data_Plan)
It should answer several of your questions.

Thanks!

This is a great FAQ, however it doesn't answer my question. Can I use the BB 8820 wi-fi capabilities to completely bypass Rogers when connecting to a wi-fi network?

To clarify my question consider this. I'm on vacation in Europe and I want to check my email. I go to a coffee shop which offers free wireless network and I connect to Internet with my BB. I go to my webmail URL, I login there and check my email. Essentially I want to use the BB like I use my PDA which has wi-fi.

Can this be done?



Thanks for your help!

JSanders
05-27-2008, 03:32 PM
eh, I saw you had several questions.

Maybe this will give you some insight:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/wifi-hotzone/99353-8320-without-data-plan-what-you-can-can-t-do.html

Dubdub
05-27-2008, 06:53 PM
According to a previous poster, Klotar, who was also using Rogers, you need a data plan. Even though he originally referred to the 8800 as not having WiFi, as I read the second statement, that refers to the WiFi version as well. I have seen posted here that some carriers have that requirement. Can't remember which ones however.

Perhaps a call to Rogers is in order?

spencer88
05-27-2008, 07:26 PM
I might call Rogers, but most likely this will be useless. Rogers is a lousy company and the only reason I'm with them because they are the ONLY GSM operator in Canada.

Are you saying that by simply using the Rogers SIM card in a unlocked Blackberry originally from AT&T I won't be able to use wi-fi to connect to Internet if I don't have the data plan? If that's the case the wi-fi is useless, isn't it? The whole idea is to bypass the RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE Rogers' data plans...

Dubdub
05-27-2008, 07:28 PM
I honestly do not know the Rogers policies and plans. That is why I suggested a call. Might try a PM to Klotar to get him/her to clarify their post. The profiles say their carrier is Rogers.

spencer88
05-27-2008, 07:50 PM
I honestly do not know the Rogers policies and plans. That is why I suggested a call. Might try a PM to Klotar to get him/her to clarify their post. The profiles say their carrier is Rogers.

Thanks,

I sent Klotar a PM.

I don't think that the answer to my question depends on the carrier. This is something BB 8820 either can do or it can't.

Anybody else that know if BB 8820 can connect to Internet through wi-fi bypassing the cell phone carrier?



Thanks!

spencer88
05-27-2008, 08:12 PM
I just found out that Rogers do not offer BlackBerry 8820 in Canada - as I said this is a lousy company. Calling them will be useless indeed.

spencer88
05-27-2008, 10:46 PM
I got the answer I was looking for here:

Can I use Wifi without tmobile data plan?? - BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com (http://forums.crackberry.com/f33/can-i-use-wifi-without-tmobile-data-plan-36286/)

spencer88
05-28-2008, 02:30 PM
Another update. I've just talked to RIM sales and they confirmed that I don't need a data plan to be able to connect to internet with wi-fi :).

supercat25
05-30-2008, 02:09 PM
Spencer88 thanks for replying to this topic with your answer as I myself was curious about your question. And I'm with Rogers for the same reason.

Hauser
05-30-2008, 11:38 PM
I went through the same thing with my unlocked 8820 on Rogers, short answer is yes you can use Wi-Fi without a data plan (regular or BIS/BES) but you won't be able to make use of BIS/BES functionality, plus you'll get some other confusing side effects like warning icons because BIS doesn't work even though your Wi-Fi connection is fine.

See my findings and instructions/gotchas in this post (http://www.blackberryforums.com/wifi-hotzone/106114-got-my-t-8820-wi-fi-browser-working-some-fyis.html).

Lenrage
06-12-2008, 07:25 AM
I have a AT&T 8820 unlocked that I am using with Rogers. I dont have a data plan but got the email unlimited for 15 dollars. My Wi-fi is working and I can surf the net when connected. Google maps wasnt working before but yesterday, i re-installed it and now it is working great.

Hope it helps