PDA

View Full Version : New User - Sprint 8830 and China


maximus77
06-04-2008, 10:02 AM
Hello everyone!

I am new to using BB. I love it so far!! My only problem is that I go to China quite a bit and have a Chinese SIM card that I would like to use with my BB. I have read some of the posts about this BB being lock/unlocked and frankly I am clueless. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

MaX

dwp1975
06-04-2008, 01:07 PM
Wirelessly posted

Sprint uses CDMA which does not use SIM cards. They do however sell the 8830 which is a CDMA/GSM hybrid aka world phone that has the GSM portion unlocked.

penguin3107
06-04-2008, 01:19 PM
Hello everyone!

I am new to using BB. I love it so far!! My only problem is that I go to China quite a bit and have a Chinese SIM card that I would like to use with my BB. I have read some of the posts about this BB being lock/unlocked and frankly I am clueless. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

MaX

The GSM side of the Sprint 8830 is unlocked. As long as the GSM network in China is a compatible frequency (which it probably is) then you should be fine to use that SIM card you have.

penguin3107
06-04-2008, 01:20 PM
Wirelessly posted

Sprint uses CDMA which does not use SIM cards. They do however sell the 8830 which is a CDMA/GSM hybrid aka world phone that has the GSM portion unlocked.

I think you missed the subject line of the post. ;-)

maximus77
06-06-2008, 03:26 AM
Thanks for your help. It is working for me and here are the steps that I took.

1. Go to "Manage Connections"
2. Go to "Mobile Network Options"
3. Go to "Network Mode" and switch it from "Global" to "GSM".

Works like a charm!!

dwp1975
06-06-2008, 09:16 AM
I think you missed the subject line of the post. ;-)

Doh! :oops:

I could of sworn the subject line said 8330....lol. Or maybe I have that phone on my mind so much I am seeing it everywhere.