PDA

View Full Version : track ball kinda stuck, refuses to go left


domerdel
06-09-2008, 10:20 AM
how do i clean this? i want to say something is lodged underneath or just stuck. I want to properly clean it without breaking it.

Sith_Apprentice
06-09-2008, 10:21 AM
press and hold the mute button on top. then when the device is in standby, press firmly down and roll to the left. dust/crap usually gets under the track balls if you keep it in your pocket without protection for instance.

John Clark
06-09-2008, 10:25 AM
I usually just push and roll around in all directions. Sometimes it takes a few times to get it cleaned out.

domerdel
06-09-2008, 10:42 AM
yeah i'm fearing this isn't a dry or dusty clog. it feels somewhat sticky (dont ask cuz i really dont know lol). still pressing real firmly all directions. no luck yet. may have to go down to the verizon store later.

Sith_Apprentice
06-09-2008, 10:44 AM
if you got it wet, or there was something to indicate liquid damage, they wont do anything for you. Try anyway, you may never know. Make a backup of your info before you go though in case they swap it.
HorizonWirelessOnline.com - Horizon Wireless, Canada’s Cellular Repair Center (http://www.horizonwirelessonline.com) has replacement trackballs for sale i believe.

John Clark
06-09-2008, 10:50 AM
I saw this exact same thing with another VZW 8130. If you pushed too hard nothing would happen. If you were very light on the trackball when rolling it, it was fine. I even popped the trackball out of mine and put in it and the same thing happened. Not sure what the deal is.

bbaratz
06-09-2008, 11:21 AM
I used alcohol on a q-tip, rolled the ball around and used compressed are to dry and it worked when it wouldn't go in the down position.

kirkpt
06-09-2008, 12:14 PM
bbaratz is right, did the same and fixed the issue.

John Clark
06-09-2008, 12:20 PM
Alcohol will work if it's just dirty. Be careful, though, and make sure the phone is turned off if you're using alcohol. Don't use very much either and give it time to dry.

Kazmi
06-09-2008, 12:40 PM
Had the same issue with my 8830...took it in and they actually replaced it since they couldn't get it to unfreeze....:?