PDA

View Full Version : I just can't decide

06-11-2008, 08:17 AM
I am an owner of a newly broken Nokia 5300 and am looking for a Blackberry to replace my broken phone quickly.

Although I really would like the curve, I can not afford it. I am thinking about the pearl or the 8700(g or c).

I am a college student and don't send emails too much but I do have to check mine often . I really want the phone for its organizer capabilites and internet access. I am in a contract with t-mobile.

Could I get an unlocked phone that isn't branded tmobile and still use the data plan on the phone?
If my understanding is correct then wifi isn't the same as edge? I have my personal wifi set up at my house so I am concerned about not being able to get on the internet because I am not sure how to check if I have edge reception.
I like the full keyboard on the 8700 but the pearl seems more practical.
A camera is not important to me.
What do you think? I have never owned a blackberry but I did go and look at the curve and pearl. They looked very complex to me but I'm sure after I get the hang of it, I'll love it.

The most I can spend is probably 150. Please help me.

JSanders
06-11-2008, 08:23 AM
Welcome to the BBForums.

You can get any GSM network device, unlocked, to use on TMo. Any AT&T/Cingular device will do. How do I unlock my BlackBerry? - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/How_do_I_unlock_my_BlackBerry%3F)

WiFi is not the same as EDGE. You will need specific model BBs that include WiFi access, such as the 8120, 8320, 8820.

You can buy a used Pearl for $150, and the 8700 for under 100.

Good luck. Post back with other questions. Check out the Buy Sell Trade section here, some reputable dealers here. Be wary of eBay for BlackBerrys.
Buying a BlackBerry off eBay - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/Buying_a_BlackBerry_off_eBay)

Papa-Pompous
06-11-2008, 08:49 AM
Wirelessly posted