PDA

View Full Version : BB Push E-Mail VS Oth. Push E-Mail

p051t1v3
06-12-2008, 08:42 PM
Hello all!

I have some questions regarding BB Push Email.
I'm a newbie in Blackberry world, replies and answers are very much appreciated.
I'm getting a new phone, definitely a Blackberry. But for the last few weeks, I've been reading up on articles on other phones like LG, HTC, i-Mate and found out that they are providing Push E-Mail technology as well. To name a few, LG KS20, HTC Touch Diamond, and Sony XPERIA.

My questions are
1. Are they using Blackberry-connect software to get the push-email technology on their phones?
2. If not, how does their push-email technology compare to BB Push Email?

Thank you all in advance for insights, replies, and answers.

zenartbb
06-12-2008, 09:30 PM
Wirelessly posted (Curve 8330)

BlackBerry and Good have the only true "push" technologies.
All others are fakers in my humble opinion.

Good is not really out there much anymore, and tends to hijack the OS of the device it is loaded on (which can suck on a number of different levels).

The others (ActiveSync included) simulate "push" by having the device check for mail in the background. This means that your device is doing the heavy lifting, and you will experience battery drain issues.

With BlackBerry the server does the heavy lifting (BES or BIS) and simply sends (err a representation/copy of)the mail to your device and reconciles back with the server.

Dubdub
06-12-2008, 09:31 PM
Blackberry connect works on some platforms which essentially makes it act sort of like a BB where email is concerned.

As I understand WM email from my Palm and WM days, the device makes the poll to go get email every so often as you set it up to do. You can also request it to poll as well. RIM just automatically pushes email tot he device with no interaction or set up on your part. At least that is how I remember it being long ago and far away - Treo 600/650 days.

p051t1v3
06-13-2008, 04:13 AM