PDA

View Full Version : AT&T doesn't support free WIFI without data plan?!??!


mariod505
11-06-2008, 12:55 PM
I have a 8820 under AT&T but I don't subscribe to the data plan. I have free WIFI at home, work and school so I don't think I should need it. Unfortunately, the only way I seem to be able to connect to a network is if I turn on the "Data Services" in my mobile network settings. Is this really required??? I have a feeling AT&T is going to start billing me (for data to/from my personal free wifi networks!!!) if I keep that on.

Anyone able to get around this?

dasunst3r
11-06-2008, 02:01 PM
Wirelessly posted

First off, if you dob't see a Wi-Fi icon on your home screen, your Wi-Fi antenna is not on. To turn it on, go to "Manage Connections" and check the box that says "Wi-Fi." While you're there, go to "Set up Wi-Fi Network" and go from there.

hyedipin
11-06-2008, 02:15 PM
Without Data plan, you will be able to connect to any WiFi, it is not connected or tied together with data, however, know this, without BIS or BES, you will not be able to surf or download OTA with Blackberry Browser over WiFi.

So, you will still need to get data, and install Opera, then you will be able to use WiFi to browse.

jjmach
11-06-2008, 03:08 PM
I remember seen on the forum what you can do with wifi without data plan, not sure if on the FAQ section or someone post it.

Regards

Stinsonddog
11-06-2008, 03:10 PM
Blackberry Links of Interest (Blackberry Tips & Tricks from the Mods) (http://www.stinsonddog.com/interesting-blackberry-links)

See the link for internet browser without BIS or BES

mariod505
11-06-2008, 03:25 PM
I do have the WIFI network on and I am able to see/connect to WIFI networks - and I have also changed my default browser to the WIFI browser. The issue is that when I attempt to go to any url, it says "unable to connect..." - however when I enable data services under "mobile Network Options" it works immediately (and I know it's through the wifi because I get my router login popup). When I look at the status of the network, I see the "IP address no longer valid" - even if I've just turned it on

So I'm at a loss... The wireless FAQs say it should work but it clearly doesn't.

mariod505
11-06-2008, 06:37 PM
Without Data plan, you will be able to connect to any WiFi, it is not connected or tied together with data, however, know this, without BIS or BES, you will not be able to surf or download OTA with Blackberry Browser over WiFi.

So, you will still need to get data, and install Opera, then you will be able to use WiFi to browse.

I'm able to use the WiFi browser to connect ok, my issue is that other BB applications will connect even when only the BIS is available, and I will be charged for the data.

What I really need is to be able to disable BIS altogether so that all data goes through wireless.