PDA

View Full Version : 8800 won't turn on...


DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:13 AM
I got an 8800 and when you put the battery in it the red light comes on solid for a few seconds and then nothing else happens. I found this thread...

can't post the link b/c I don't have 10 posts...(n)

...and want to try this to see if it'll fix the problem but I don't have the "Application Loader". Where can I download this?

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 10:15 AM
Try charging it for a while, like 30 minutes. The battery may be too low to turn the device on.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:16 AM
Naw, that's not the problem. I've tried multiple, fully charged batteries....

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 10:19 AM
This may help:

How do I wipe the BlackBerry using Jl Cmder? - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F)

Good luck.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:22 AM
I need the Application Loader. Where can I DL it?

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 10:24 AM
Application Loader is a part of Desktop Manager. Follow the link I posted to download Desktop Manager to your PC.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:45 AM
Cool, I got that but when I tried connecting the BB to the PC it said there was a fatal error and then it said that my BB was password protected. Anyone know how to reset the PW b/c I don't know what it could be...

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 10:48 AM
Where did you get this device? eBay?

If you don't know the password, just put in the wrong password 10 times and the device will wipe and allow you to set a new one.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:53 AM
My mom moved and found it in her new house. LoL! Can't beat a FREE, legit BB!!! OK, I was afraid to use up the 10 tries but I'm about to try that right now....BrB

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 10:54 AM
Your mom didn't try contacting the people who used to live there and return the device?

Incredible.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:55 AM
Another thing, when I install the Desktop Manager, there isn't an icon any where on my computer...

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 10:57 AM
Yeah, she called the realtor and the realtor said we could keep it after he contacted the previous owners "because it's broken"...

Why the "incredible"?

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 11:00 AM
Can you find desktop manager by clicking on the Start button on your PC?

Incredible because you left out the part where your mom contacted the realtor. We get people on the forums who 'find' a device and make zero attempt to return it to the rightful owner and then think they have a right to keep the device. Sounds like your mom did try to return it, so that's good.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 11:03 AM
Yeah, I understand where you're coming from, but I'm not a thief, LoL...

I do appreciate your help BTW...

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 11:05 AM
Oh, and no, there isn't anything in the start menu. I'm going to do a search of my PC and see what I can find...

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 11:08 AM
What is the file name you downloaded? It should be a pretty large file and take several minutes to download to your PC (when downloading it, save it to your Desktop so you can find it easier). Then you have to double click the file to install it on your PC.

Same with the device OS file... download to your Desktop, then double click the file to install the device OS to your PC.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 11:17 AM
Yeah, I did that and when I installed it, it never asked me to verify a location to save the files from the install (i.e. the .exe file). I did a search and found it in some random folder and try to run it and it won't run....might have something to do with the permissions on my PC here at work....

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 11:28 AM
8800M_PBr4.2.1_rel109_PL2.3.0.54_A4.2.1.72_Cingular.exe is the file name that I downloaded and running this one starts the install wizard....

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 11:51 AM
I took the battery out and plugged the USB cable to it and you can see, very faintly, a battery with a line through it. Hopefully I can fix this thing....

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 11:53 AM
A battery with a line thru it just means the battery needs to charge.

jsconyers
11-12-2008, 12:05 PM
Also the file you downloaded looks more like a device OS and not desktop manager.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 12:21 PM
A battery with a line thru it just means the battery needs to charge.

Yeah, I was just sayin' that b/c I don't think the phone is complete junk...it's salvagable....

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 12:24 PM
Also the file you downloaded looks more like a device OS and not desktop manager.

It asks me after I install it if I want to run Application Loader....

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 12:26 PM
...unless there is something wrong with the USB port. And I thought you said you'd put charged batteries in it already....?

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 12:31 PM
...unless there is something wrong with the USB port. And I thought you said you'd put charged batteries in it already....?


I did, I was just messing around with it to see what I could get it to do....


Which software version do I download from this page....

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 12:38 PM
I'd go with Desktop Manager 4.6 - without media manager (option with or without media manager shows after you select DM 4.6 and click the Next button).

The file without media manager is MUCH smaller.

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 01:34 PM
OK, I dl'd v4.6 and now the red light stays on and when I tried connecting it to the Desktop Manager it asked for a PIN and a password and I don't know either. Is there a master reset button somewhere on the phone or is there another way to reset the passwords?

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 01:39 PM
It's still not booting up like it should...

juwaack68
11-12-2008, 01:49 PM
The PIN might be a SIM PIN...not sure about hat.

There is no way around the password...enter it 10 times wrong and let it wipe the device (although, doing it connected to the computer will also remove the OS, but you're going to install a new OS anyway).

DGrantG
11-12-2008, 02:34 PM
OK, I've tried reinstalling the OS thru JL Cmder and it wouldn't connect so I tried it the other way and it still says "Unable to reconnect during multistage load operation".

What now?

panhao6688
11-13-2008, 03:21 AM
wipe!~~~~we call it"刷机"

DGrantG
11-13-2008, 11:04 AM
wipe!~~~~we call it"刷机"

I tried to with JL Cmder but it won't connect to it....

juwaack68
11-13-2008, 11:08 AM
This may help:

What to do next if Jl Cmder will not connect and wipe - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.net/index.php/What_to_do_next_if_Jl_Cmder_will_not_connect_and_wipe)

DGrantG
11-13-2008, 11:08 AM
I'm trying to reinstall the OS thru desktop manager....we'll see what happens...

jsconyers
11-13-2008, 11:08 AM
Try this and see if it helps.

With the BB connected, open up command prompt. Change directories to where JL_Cmder is located (Should be something like C:\Program Files\JL_Cmder) and try running the following command: javaloader.exe -u wipe

See if that kicks back an error or if it wipes the device.

DGrantG
11-13-2008, 11:11 AM
will do! thanks...i'll let you know shortly...

DGrantG
11-13-2008, 11:15 AM
it says,

"Connecting to device...debug: COM error during Open <0x80040001>
Error: unable to open port"

jsconyers
11-13-2008, 11:30 AM
That doesn't look good. I would try to follow the steps in the link posted in post 33. If not, looks like there isn't much you can do to save the device.

DGrantG
11-13-2008, 12:56 PM
Is it possible that the USB port on the BB is jacked up? It goes thru all the other steps just fine until it tries to reconnect...

DGrantG
11-18-2008, 09:08 AM
Alright! Got some new stuff with the phone. I ordered a battery on the internet, let it sit on the charger ALLLL night last night and when I woke up this morning, the buttons and ball are all light up and there is a verrrrrry faint image on the screen. It looks like a little window with a square, circle and triangle in it and underneath the box there's the numbers 507. What does this mean?

DGrantG
11-18-2008, 10:02 AM
YAY! It loaded the OS but the screen is still really faint!!!

Another question is, where does the SIM card go?

sh6565
11-19-2008, 07:48 PM
Alright! Got some new stuff with the phone. I ordered a battery on the internet, let it sit on the charger ALLLL night last night and when I woke up this morning, the buttons and ball are all light up and there is a verrrrrry faint image on the screen. It looks like a little window with a square, circle and triangle in it and underneath the box there's the numbers 507. What does this mean?

I'm having the same exact problem - wiped it using JL Commander, I then run desktop manager (with the appropriate OS installed on my computer - it's for an 8800) and when I run application loader, the blackberry just shuts down, reboots with the red light, is on for a second with the battery with the line through it, then shuts down again, reboots with the red light, then the battery with the line through it, etc... does it about three times and then stays off - I receive the fatal error message. I don't know what to do and I'm racking my brains out trying to figure it out!

DGrantG
11-21-2008, 06:35 PM
I'm having the same exact problem - wiped it using JL Commander, I then run desktop manager (with the appropriate OS installed on my computer - it's for an 8800) and when I run application loader, the blackberry just shuts down, reboots with the red light, is on for a second with the battery with the line through it, then shuts down again, reboots with the red light, then the battery with the line through it, etc... does it about three times and then stays off - I receive the fatal error message. I don't know what to do and I'm racking my brains out trying to figure it out!

After I reloaded the OS it still did nothing. I would love to get this thing working but I don't know what else to do either.

I'm almost thinking about taking it to AT&T and seeing what they can do...

JSanders
11-21-2008, 06:48 PM
YAY! It loaded the OS but the screen is still really faint!!!

Another question is, where does the SIM card go?

In the battery compartment you will see the silver gate for the SIM. And one for the Media Card as well. It will be obvious by size which is which.