PDA

View Full Version : Development on linux


honestsuccess
12-02-2008, 11:07 PM
Hello to all.

I am begineer in development in blackberry. I am using linux ubuntu. Can i do development in linux ?

Iare Tosevite
12-03-2008, 12:02 AM
Yeah Netbeans can be used on both windows and linux.

I'm just not sure how to setup blackberry dev on liunux, though.

honestsuccess
12-03-2008, 12:14 AM
Thanks for your reply. I know that netbeans can run but as far as i know blackberry set up is seprate so i am confuse. Can some one reply me ?

oli77za
12-04-2008, 07:23 AM
your best bet is to use bb-ant. I do all my BlackBerry development using eclipse on a ubuntu box.

honestsuccess
12-04-2008, 07:56 AM
your best bet is to use bb-ant. I do all my BlackBerry development using eclipse on a ubuntu box.

Thanks for your reply. Do you mean that i will have to run using ant. From where i can download the plugins ? Can you please give more details ?

oli77za
12-04-2008, 08:48 AM
I'm not using the eclipse plugin for linux. I set my dev environment in the following way:

1) create a directory with the whole JDE (install it on a windows box and copy it across on linux)
2) Install the Sun WTK (you will need it to run preverify)
3) in your ant script import bb-ant (which you would havepreviously downloaded) and have the correct targets

<property name="jde.home" value="${user.home}/dev/bbjde" />
<property name="output.basename" value="MyApplication" />
<property name="src" value="../src" />

<taskdef resource="bb-ant-defs.xml" />
<target name="build">
<mkdir dir="${build.dir}" />
<rapc output="${output.basename}" srcdir="${src}" destdir="${build.dir}" quiet="false">
<jdp title="My Blackberry Client" vendor="MySelf" version="1.1.4" type="cldc" runonstartup="true" startuptier="7" icon="../resources/icon.png" />
</rapc>
</target>

<target name="sign" depends="build">
<sigtool codfile="${build.dir}/${output.basename}.cod" password="znetworks"/>
<delete file="LogFile.txt" />
</target>


4) Make sure that the bb-ant is in your ant classpath
5) Make sure that, when you run eclipse, you have the bin directory of WTK and the JDE in your path
6) Just build from the ant task

Unfortunately I couldn't get the simulator running on Linux yet, so I just mount the build directory in a directory on a windows virtual box and run it from there



Hope this helps,
Oliver