PDA

View Full Version : Cannot install Desktop Manager - Curve 8900


bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 02:27 PM
I have recently purchased a Blackberry 8900 and have been trying to install the desktop manager on my laptop. The installation seems to work fine until right at the end this error message appears:

"error 1965. an error occured during the installation of assembly component {97F81AF1-0E47-DC99-A01F-C8B3B9A1E18E}. HRESULT: 0x80073712"

I am trying to install from the cd supplied with the unit

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

DacyJ
12-27-2008, 02:39 PM
Wirelessly posted (you serious Clark?)

Have you tried going to the blackberry site and download it there?

its right here (https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22)

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 02:42 PM
I have gone to the site and downloaded the same version desktop manager 4.7 and it still comes up with the same error message. Never had this problem before....previously used a pearl and an earlier 8300.....not had any of the previous software on this laptop....running vista if that helps

DacyJ
12-27-2008, 02:44 PM
Wirelessly posted (you serious Clark?)

I didn't like ver. 4.7 so I moved back to .6, maybe you should try that.

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 02:48 PM
Ok will give 4.6 a go and see where that goes, thanks for the replies.

tsac
12-27-2008, 03:11 PM
Also try not loading the media manager software. Download a version that does not contain the Roxio APP.
Both are available

Welcome to the Forums

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 03:16 PM
Thanks, can you paste me the link in? I can see all the versions available....just need to know the correct one as not sure which one doesnt include Roxio APP

tsac
12-27-2008, 03:22 PM
Software For BlackBerry Desktop Software v4.6

Desktop Manager 4.6.0 B23 Multilanguage - Without Media Manager


File name: 460_b023_multilanguage_nomediamanager.exe
File size: 100.53 MB
Date posted: 25-Nov-08
Download Software

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/browseSoftware.do;jsessionid=XGdJv7o1r7Nuo1+Ho2KQCg**

tsac
12-27-2008, 03:23 PM
If that does not work you may have issues with your PC. If it does work you can always try the full version of 4.6 that contains the media manager.

Godd luck

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 03:29 PM
Thanks downloading it now, will report back once done

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 03:50 PM
I have tried the above and the same error message is still coming up. Starting to get rather annoyed!!! Arrrgh! Not sure what else to try? Any more ideas?

tsac
12-27-2008, 04:51 PM
Well here's the wierd part. Rim and Microsoft dont have a listing for error 1965. I will continue searching.

tsac
12-27-2008, 04:51 PM
what type of Laptop is it and version of Vista?

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 04:59 PM
laptop is acer travelmate 5320 and the version of vista is home premium

tsac
12-27-2008, 05:02 PM
Also by any chance is the 4.7 still on the pc? Did you try to delete all components?. One area Rim states with Vista is the software fails due to a restriction on the directory it is attempting to use. If your not using Administrator , i would try that. As for roxio , RIM and Microsoft, all have zero listing of error 1965.
Another listing states that the final completion fails because it cannot find it's log file.
You might try directing it to a directory you create just for DM and see what happens. Dont use the default.

tsac
12-27-2008, 05:16 PM
Ok Acer does not have a clue. You might try doing an OS update at Microsoft and install any patches that are available. Have you ever had trouble installing software before? it may be you installed something that is in conflict. Last resort is to unload anything you added then try it. But if you do that be sure to backup any data you will need later. The really last last resort is to reload the PC but only if nothing else works. You might also try the install on another PC if you have on. makes no difference what type XP, ME etc.

bettsy1982
12-27-2008, 05:22 PM
Not sure if it was a typo by me earlier but the error code is 1935 not 65. I have tried saving it to another directory which also has not worked. Going to look at microsoft updates as the next option, I was able to install the desktop manager on my old laptop which was also an acer but was running xp not vista

tsac
12-27-2008, 05:31 PM
ok , so 1935 , 1995, 1999 wow. ok now try this



Error 1935 during BlackBerry Desktop Software installation

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Doc ID : KB14222
Last Modified : 12-02-2008
Document Type : Support



Print this page

Environment
BlackBerry® Desktop Software 4.2 Service Pack 2 (4.2.2)
Microsoft® Windows® XP
Microsoft® Windows® Vista


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Overview
The BlackBerry smartphone user receives the following error when attempting to install BlackBerry Desktop Software:

Error 1935



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Cause
There is a startup item present in Microsoft Windows XP that is preventing the installation of BlackBerry Desktop Software from proceeding.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Resolution
To resolve this issue, disable the Microsoft Windows XP startup items. To perform this, complete the following steps:

Note: If BlackBerry Desktop Software is currently installed, perform a clean uninstall of the software before proceeding. For instructions, see KB02206.

On the computer, click Start > Run.
Type msconfig and click OK. The System Configuration Utility opens.
On the General tab, select the Selective Startup radio button.
Remove the checkmark from the box labeled Load Startup Items, and click OK.
Restart the computer, and attempt to install BlackBerry Desktop Software again.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Workaround
If using a computer that is running Vista with all non-Microsoft Services disabled and Selective startup with Load Startup items unchecked and the above steps do not resolve the issue, the following may be performed as a workaround:

On the computer, click Start > All Programs > Accessories.
Right-click Command prompt and choose Run as Administrator.
Type fsutil resource setautoreset true c:\ and press ENTER. A message indicating that the operation completed successfully should be displayed.
Restart the computer and reinstall BlackBerry Desktop Manager.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Additional Information
Make sure that the latest Windows® updates have been installed for Windows Vista™.

For additional causes and resolutions, refer to article 000086CR on the Roxio® Support website.

tsac
12-27-2008, 05:32 PM
This is the link if you want to look at it.

View Document (http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB14222&sliceId=1&docTypeID=DT_SUPPORTISSUE_1_1&dialogID=12914288&stateId=1%200%2012918093)

tsac
12-27-2008, 05:41 PM
Another thing, the above applies to Vista also

iLawCDN
12-27-2008, 07:15 PM
ok , so 1935 , 1995, 1999 wow. ok now try this



Error 1935 during BlackBerry Desktop Software installation

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Doc ID : KB14222
Last Modified : 12-02-2008
Document Type : Support



Print this page

Environment
BlackBerry® Desktop Software 4.2 Service Pack 2 (4.2.2)
Microsoft® Windows® XP
Microsoft® Windows® Vista


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Overview
The BlackBerry smartphone user receives the following error when attempting to install BlackBerry Desktop Software:

Error 1935



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Cause
There is a startup item present in Microsoft Windows XP that is preventing the installation of BlackBerry Desktop Software from proceeding.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Resolution
To resolve this issue, disable the Microsoft Windows XP startup items. To perform this, complete the following steps:

Note: If BlackBerry Desktop Software is currently installed, perform a clean uninstall of the software before proceeding. For instructions, see KB02206.

On the computer, click Start > Run.
Type msconfig and click OK. The System Configuration Utility opens.
On the General tab, select the Selective Startup radio button.
Remove the checkmark from the box labeled Load Startup Items, and click OK.
Restart the computer, and attempt to install BlackBerry Desktop Software again.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Workaround
If using a computer that is running Vista with all non-Microsoft Services disabled and Selective startup with Load Startup items unchecked and the above steps do not resolve the issue, the following may be performed as a workaround:

On the computer, click Start > All Programs > Accessories.
Right-click Command prompt and choose Run as Administrator.
Type fsutil resource setautoreset true c:\ and press ENTER. A message indicating that the operation completed successfully should be displayed.
Restart the computer and reinstall BlackBerry Desktop Manager.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Additional Information
Make sure that the latest Windows® updates have been installed for Windows Vista™.

For additional causes and resolutions, refer to article 000086CR on the Roxio® Support website.

Judging by this article, it sounds like Vista's User Account Control is in the way (yet again... UAC has to be the most intrusive feature of Vista). Only UAC would stop an administrator account from installing software properly. If it didn't, there would be no reason for it to require a "Run As Administrator" workaround (as stated in the above knowledge base document). If it's an administrator account, then by definition, you are an administrator lol.

Try Disabling it in Control Panel > User Accounts. Then restart the computer.

SteveO86
12-27-2008, 11:07 PM
I would definitly try disabling UAC, maybe a windows update also before the installation, but UAC is kind of a pain.

Do you have Service Pack 1 Installed?

tsac
12-27-2008, 11:34 PM
I agree with Steve086, Thats why i asked if you were on Admin.