PDA

View Full Version : What *can* I do with no ATT data plan?

hoosier_puck
01-30-2009, 04:13 PM
It looks like I might have screwed up! I'm a BB newbie, and I thought the BB would be like other devices where a WiFi connection would allow some of the basics (Web, email). I'm coming to the conclusion this might not be true.

With my ATT 8320, can I actually:

- Browse the web? My only options are MediaNet and Hotspot Browser. Even when I have a Wi-Fi connection, the message I receive is "Unable to connect to the Internet, please try again later"

- Get email - the only email options are "I want to use a work email account with a BES server" or "skip email setup"

Am I missing something in the setup or did something get disabled/minimized by ATT?

Thanks in advance.

jjmach
01-30-2009, 04:29 PM
To get your e-mails pushed you need a blackberry data plan, there's a few things you can do without a data plan, I think on the FAQ section are some information about it. Just search a little bit

Regards

CO_BBTechie
01-30-2009, 04:31 PM
You *can* view the FAQ's;

What do I need a Data Plan for? - BlackBerryFAQ (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/What_do_I_need_a_Data_Plan_for%3F)

Damaged7
01-31-2009, 12:38 PM
Wirelessly posted

You *can* post a thread and have a discussion about it.

Wait no you can't people will just post you a link.

jsconyers
01-31-2009, 12:47 PM
Wirelessly posted

Yes, the link is an FAQ (Frequently Asked Question). Why have another thread on something that has been asked frequently?

That just clutters the forums and makes it difficult for others who actually use the search feature.

akosnitzky
02-01-2009, 07:10 AM
Wirelessly posted (Its All About the U!)

You can also use the device as a paper weight.

rambo47
02-01-2009, 10:40 AM