PDA

View Full Version : Unexplained Phenomena

davemack
02-08-2009, 11:41 AM
I'm new to this BB thing and I still think this is the greatest thing since sliced bread. Of course, my BB isn't doing anything too weird yet. But I keep reading these horor stories about BB's shutting off and doing other weird and undesirable things. And I had a thought...

I'm an auto mechanic. But I specilize in the computer controlled systems on cars and have worked with electronics for over a quarter centery. So I have a little experience with, for the lack of a better term, "solid state" apparatus.

For those who may not know.. many electronic circuits and devices including the BB operate on 3 to 5 volts of electricity. If you take a solid state chip and expose it to say 300 volts, you stand a good chance of zapping it. Sometimes, the damage doesn't show up immediately either. It can show up as erratic operation later on. This is the same for any solid state device.

It's been a cold and dry winter and with the lower humidity, static electricity is a real issue. When you drag your feet across the carpet or slide your butt out of the car, you often generate enough static elelctricity to cause a spark. But did you know that in order to "see" "feel" or "hear" that little spark, that means you generated at least 3000 volts of elelctricity. Yep, no typo, 3000 volts.

Now I noticed that especially with a new BB, we like to keep it looking all shiny and nice. And I often get smudges and fingerprints on the screen. So, what's the natural thing to do? Rub it on your pant's leg to buff it up?

I can't help but wonder just how much static elelctricity you are generating when you do that. Maybe, I won't do that any more.

piester
02-08-2009, 03:09 PM
Wirelessly posted

Woudnt the bb have to be grounded or have a negative charge for the static electricity to jump from our hand to the device?

raja_3012
02-08-2009, 03:11 PM