PDA

View Full Version : mem always LOW. ALWAYS


bbcurve5
02-08-2009, 06:10 PM
i've deleted all the messengers except yahoo. and everything else that came with the BB curve 8320 except myspace/bb messsenger. I only have Opera installed.

so once I Erase all my cache from both browsers my file free space ALWAYS go back to 16mb, ALWAYS.(17,485,690) I called tmobile and they say " the blackberry needs _____ amount of memory to run programs" so basically I just have 16mb of free space to use on a blackberry curve 8320.

is there a way I can get my space back up to 55mb? I'm just tired of taking the battery out EVERYDAY.


(note:Deleted the languages and device limit is set to 5mb) no themes

jeremyckitching
02-08-2009, 07:01 PM
Try this thread for maximum memory:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/112029-losing-call-logs-sms-emails-optimize-your-bb-how-setup-max-free-memory.html

SteveO86
02-08-2009, 07:04 PM
I don't think the 8320 will allow you get 55 MB free.

Have you been the memory thread stickied at the top of this forum?

monkeypaw
02-08-2009, 07:46 PM
16MB is pretty good on an 8320. Even cutting out all the excess things like the messengers and other languages, on a completely clean install I think it'll get to the low 20's MB.

Due to all the apps I have, I regularly run in the 8MB-9MB range without any problems.

What did Tmobile say was the amount required? Probably a misinformed rep.

takeshi
02-09-2009, 09:52 AM
16MB isn't low. You're thinking about this with a PC mindset. You're fine. I'd check out the memory optimization thread but aiming for 55MB free is a bit too optimistic.

bbcurve5
02-09-2009, 11:21 PM
ok now i understand. well I've only been with blackberry for 3 months. I was thinking like most phones you atlease get half of the mem that comes with the phone. I didnt know the OS and applications takes up all the mem leaving you with less than half of free space..... well on the box they should say 20mb of free space because thats actually how much you really have............

Damaged7
02-10-2009, 12:44 AM
Wirelessly posted

Its like buying a hard drive. It may say 100gb, but you can't store 100gb of data on it.

alb123
02-10-2009, 12:55 AM
Wirelessly posted

Am I correct that the 8310 & 8320 come with 64MB RAM while the 8330 comes with 96MB RAM?

Chris

SteveO86
02-10-2009, 09:08 AM
Wirelessly posted

Am I correct that the 8310 & 8320 come with 64MB RAM while the 8330 comes with 96MB RAM?

Chris

Correct. (I've typically got 37-45 MB free on my Curve which is plenty in my opinion) I use my BlackBerry for anything and everything I can.