PDA

View Full Version : Using Curve 8900 in Europe


tjanssen55
03-05-2009, 05:19 PM
I'm hoping someone can clear this up for me since I've received conflicting information.

I currently live in Canada but I am moving to Portugal soon, and I am about to purchase a Curve 8900 but unlocked so I can use it in both countries.

Does anyone know if there will be any problems in terms of data/internet/email functionality once I get to Portugal and sign on with a Portuguese wireless provider?

I don't know much about this myself but I was told that unlocking the phone means voice and text will be fine, but it can disrupt the data functions. But so long as the provider in Portugal also carries the 8900 there shouldn't be a problem since they would be able to "reprogram" it.

However the 8900 is not available in Portugal at the moment (although the 9000 is). Will I therefore have problems with the data functions? And does anyone know if it will be released in Portugal (it was recently released in Spain)?

Trimix
03-05-2009, 05:35 PM
Unlocking means that the phone is not locked into use with one particular cell carrier. So by unlocking it, all you would have to do is switch out the SIM card and everything is good to go.

The only thing that I dont know is whether or not Portugal's mobile carriers have a BlackBerry data plan available for consumers. If they do, you should be able to use your phone with no problem.

raja_3012
03-05-2009, 05:59 PM
Also ensure the PIN of that device is released by the carrier from which you are procuring the 8900.