PDA

View Full Version : New to the Blackberry

Dave
10-29-2004, 06:11 AM
Hello everybody, I’m new to the Blackberry, just upgraded from the Motorola P935 which I have been using for about three years now to the Blackberry 7290. The basic features are great, but I’m finding that the advanced features IM, web browsing and others are not a given and require extra setup and in some cases money. So, I have arrived here for some insight.

Anyway, looking forward to chatting with everybody and sharing anything I learn.

Thanks

Dave

Inphektion
10-29-2004, 08:13 AM
Welcome. Keep reading, you'll learn a lot.

ronan675
10-29-2004, 11:10 AM
Welcome to bb forums. Are you on BWC or BES as you will have problems with Instant messaging on BWC only setups.

Dave
10-29-2004, 12:17 PM
I’m with Cingular and I’m assuming that it’s BES. But it’s funny that you mentioned it, I just installed VeriChat and it does not work it gives me a “could not open tunnel - failed.” I sent a message to their support, but have not heard anything yet.

Dave

Fireproof
10-29-2004, 03:56 PM
If you haven't specifically installed BB Enterprise Server yourself, or coordinated with your company to get you configured with BES, then you most likely have BWC, not BES.

As a result, VeriChat won't work without BES.

Dave
10-29-2004, 04:18 PM
Is there a chat package that will work with the BWC? Cingular is not real clear about their configuration. When I look at the browser push settings it has MDS, WAP and Push on and process service load MDS Hosts, SMSC Host and IP Host Allow all. I can't tell if this means that the service are available or it will accept the if I add them.

I’m amazed how little information Cingular provides, but maybe they simply don’t provide any of these services.

Gothalyptic
10-29-2004, 04:24 PM