PDA

View Full Version : Using 8800 as modem for laptop?


maxwolfie
03-12-2009, 02:41 AM
Is this possible via some means, software etc? I do not have bluetooth on my laptop.. Could USB work?

gschoelles
03-12-2009, 07:34 AM
depending on your service provider they have the software to get you up and running

Blackberrythemestars
03-12-2009, 01:07 PM
in the FAQ you can find somewhere the explenation on how to do it, however, using the 8800 as a modem is a real pain in the ass, you wont get more then 5kbs, therefore the 8700 and 9000 rule, they work on 3G, you can get easily 90kbs using them

buggle_96
03-12-2009, 09:17 PM
8700....3g?

SteveO86
03-12-2009, 09:25 PM
Yea can tether via USB, check the FAQ it may require software from Telus.. There is also a new program called tetherberry you can try.

And yes the 8700 was G3, it was CDMA CDMA is classified as 3G. (I am sure it goes more in depth then that.. )

bunjy
03-17-2009, 01:34 AM
I use TetherBerry and it works great. If you're in a 3G area, you'll get decent speeds (I get 230kbps at my house). Plus, you don't have to pay the monthly fee that the carrier charges for tethering. Just be sure to remember that some carriers have data caps (usually around 5GB).

SteveO86
03-17-2009, 08:19 PM
Does VZW have a problem with TetherBerry?