PDA

View Full Version : updated with new OS & lost web browser

txgirlff13
04-04-2009, 07:26 PM
Hey everybody!!
Noob here & I have a question.

I have an 8830 WE which I updated the OS last night to 4.5.0.135. I got emails up until about 0430 this morning. I was running errands and went by the Sprint Store (unrelated issue-it was for my hubby) when the salesperson asked me where my web browser was. I looked, she looked, the tech person there at the store looked & I now I can't get my emails or get on the internet. It works great as a phone, the only thing missing is my web browser. (n)

Got home and called Sprint technical support we tried everything in their arsenal to fix it. Now I am being told I can get a replace through Sprint for "X" amount of dollars. Now my question is...is there any way to recover my web browser & get it installed again? OR do I just need to get a new phone? :?

I backed up my BB last night, (I think) AFTER I had installed the new OS.

I appreciate any suggestions...
Thanks,
txgirlff13

SteveO86
04-05-2009, 09:24 AM
Login to your BIS sites and resend the service books. https://bis.na.blackberry.com/html?brand=sprint

Have you done a battery pull since the upgrade?

On your device you can try this Options -> Advanced Options -> Host Routing Table, hit the menu key and choose register.

txgirlff13
04-05-2009, 10:43 AM
Thanks for replying,

Yes, I have already tried all those suggestions. The service books would send & I would receive nothing on my BB. When I try to provision I get an "error 1012". I did a battery pull, then a total wipe; still no web access. When I sent a registration message it just say "OK" then nothing. I even pulled the micro SD card & formatted it. I haven't put it back yet, but..who knows? Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

SteveO86
04-05-2009, 11:15 AM
Has Sprint removed your BB Data plan and re-added it?