PDA

View Full Version : DIY BES for 1

Taliesan
04-21-2009, 04:33 PM
Greetings,

This might be a solved problem but I couldn't find instructions online anywhere.

I am an independent consultant whose mobile carrier wanted to charge me $15 /more/ per month for 5 gigs /less/ of service in order to use a BES. So I've used freeware to recreate the basic functionality of a BES for 1 person and I thought I'd share.

The end result of this will be the ability to access your e-mail, calendar, and contacts from Outlook, Gmail, and your Blackberry, and to have all of them sync automatically and wirelessly.

What you need:
- A Blackberry
- A desktop computer you can leave running
- Microsoft Outlook on the desktop
- A Gmail account

What I did:

1.) Set up a Gmail account to serve as the central hub for all the communication.

2.) Redirected all of my e-mail addresses to forward / alias to the Gmail account so they'd all be in the one place.

3.) Set up IMAP access to my Gmail account from Outlook on my desktop. This lets me use Outlook to access my e-mail when I'm at my desk.
mail dot google dot com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=75725

4.) On my work desktop, which I have on all the time, set up Google Calendar Sync to sync my calendar between Outlook and Gmail.
www dot google dot com/support/calendar/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=89955

5.) Also on my work desktop, set up the Soocial.com plug-in for Outlook to sync my contacts between Outlook and Gmail.
www dot soocial dot .com

6.) Set up my Gmail account as a regular e-mail account on my BB.

7.) Installed Google Mobile on my BB to sync my calendar and my contacts from Gmail to my BB.
www dot google dot com/mobile/default/sync.html

Insta-freeware BES for 1.

Hope this helps!

Tal.

Taliesan
04-21-2009, 04:34 PM
This is my first post so I've had to play with the URLs. Perhaps someone with the rights can repost them in clickable format.

Cheers,

Tal.

dc/dc
04-21-2009, 04:40 PM