PDA

View Full Version : My 8830 is middle aged. Need help


rcma4
05-03-2009, 12:13 PM
I have a 8830 world edition and currently running v4.2.2.176 on Verizon. I have been trying to update my phone, but for the last week, when I try hooking up my 8830 to my Imac or laptop, neither can locate my 8830. I have tried several hard reboots and not my 8830 will only hold half a charge. The error message I get when I hook up is unrecognizable device...Please help...Any ideas. I'm thinkng I need to take it in to see if any software issues may be the issue.:-(

SteveO86
05-03-2009, 01:49 PM
What version of the Desktop Manager are you running, have you tried different versions?

What OS are you running on your laptop, you can not update the BB OS via a Mac only a windows PC.

rcma4
05-03-2009, 02:02 PM
I was running the 4.6 on the PC and then upgraded to the 4.7 on the PC. WHen it stopped on the 4.6 I tried upgrading to the 4.7. On the Imac I'm running the PocketMac Sync Manager1.0.9. I have been using both MAC and PC for 8 months with no problems. Then when I hooked up all of a sudden it no works

rcma4
05-03-2009, 02:03 PM
im runnign vista on my laptop pc

ndub33
05-03-2009, 02:06 PM
Try running the upgrade form your laptop-sign into Vista as an Administrator. Also, if you have the USB connected via a hub, try plugging it directly into a laptop port.

rcma4
05-03-2009, 04:42 PM
I tried directly from the USB ports and I do have a data plan. I have tried under the admin

sandsjh
05-03-2009, 04:59 PM
Does your BB charger charge your phone?

rcma4
05-03-2009, 07:02 PM
bb will only charge halfway now. either by wall or car charger

ndub33
05-03-2009, 07:49 PM
Do you have a spare battery that you can try? Have you treid cleaning the battery contacts?

sandsjh
05-03-2009, 09:13 PM
Use a WHITE pencil eraser to clean the contacts.
Elderly TV repair fella taught me that.


Try this... but make sure you have a good backup... because it probably will knock everything out. You can use Google Sync to make a backup of your calendar and contacts.
What to do next if Jl Cmder will not connect and wipe - BlackBerryFAQ (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/What_to_do_next_if_Jl_Cmder_will_not_connect_and_wipe)

rcma4
05-06-2009, 05:01 AM
I stopped by the wireless store on the way home from work and they told me my datta port is loose and that is why it will not sync and fully charge. any way I can fix this or should I bite the bullet and replace my 8830 or get a storm...any suggestions

SteveO86
05-06-2009, 07:42 PM
Up to you really.

Do you like the Storm? If so then go for it :)