PDA

View Full Version : No AC charge after update


napawino
05-10-2009, 11:41 AM
Hello all!

I did the update to 4.5 and now my AC charger doesn't charge my 8700C.

Still works with USB.

Any ideas?

Thanks

aiharkness
05-10-2009, 11:43 AM
Doesn't make sense, at least not to me. I'm assuming you tried the obvious: hard reset on the blackberry, try different wall outlet, try different charger (if possible) . . .

napawino
05-10-2009, 11:51 AM
It does seem odd. It worked 2 days ago, and now it doesn't. I'd rather not run right out and buy a new charger if there is something internal that needs to be tweaked.

I like the OS update, but it seems odd that after doing it, it won't charge from the wall outlet.

aiharkness
05-10-2009, 11:57 AM
For what it's worth, try pulling the battery for a good 30-60 seconds. See what happens.

napawino
05-10-2009, 01:46 PM
Turn power off first?

aiharkness
05-10-2009, 01:53 PM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

No.

With power on, remove the battery. Wait 30+ seconds before you put it back.

Dubdub
05-10-2009, 01:59 PM
If the battery pull doesn't work, try a different charger/wall outlet combo. Perhaps a trip to your local ATT store and try one there and see what happens. My guess is that if it will charge via USB connected to the PC, it must be the charger.

aiharkness
05-10-2009, 02:03 PM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

That's my gut feeling. I think it's just coincidence it happened with the upgrade.

napawino
05-10-2009, 03:15 PM
I bought a new charger. Same result.

I guess as long as I can charge via USB, I'm OK. But it is very odd.

aiharkness
05-10-2009, 03:21 PM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

Is there a possibility there's a loose connection on the usb on the blackberry and the way you place it when connected to usb holds it closed, but when you charge with the wall charger the cord pulls the usb a different way? I'm just reaching for anything that might explain it. I can't see why it would be good on usb and not on the wall charger.

jsconyers
05-10-2009, 03:21 PM
Have you tried a different outlet?

napawino
05-10-2009, 03:33 PM
Have you tried a different outlet?

Yes.

webracin
06-04-2009, 09:44 PM
I have the same problem. Wall outlet does not work, but USB and car chargers do. I have tried 2 different wall chargers and no change. Tried 3 different outlets and no change. I updated the software weeks ago, but its only been the last couple of days that this issue came up.

I will keep looking for the answer and if I find it, I will post it up here.

Chris