PDA

View Full Version : Error while updating device software in BB8830


b_tuli
05-30-2009, 07:42 AM
I was trying to update my BB8830 device software to V4.5. The desktop software while updating gave an error message and then stopped. The device switched off and since then is not switching on. Further a red light on the signal display is blinking. I guess the old software is errased and new one did not install or the software got curropted. The PC (Win Xp) is also not identifying the device when connected. Request urgent help in solving this problem as my phone i snot working. Thanks in advance.

FF2
05-30-2009, 10:02 AM
Search for threads on JL Commander. Also check the Frequently Asked Questions threads - there are threads on how to restore a bricked phone. The FAQ is the second thread if you come into the forums section.

http://www.blackberryfaq.com/

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/18789-jl_cmder.html?highlight=jl

Statman
05-30-2009, 10:38 AM
Sad to say mine also ran into problems (also the phone was not recognized by DM)...Here is what I did....first I did a battery pull, then when the battery was re-installed the phone came back with partial previous OS. Now when I connect at least the phone was recognized. I did a restore (actually restore failed once as well) using DM and I am back to where I was before. Usually I have no problems installing new software. I'm just glad I made a back-up before this episode.

b_tuli
05-31-2009, 04:10 AM
Hi I am not able to run jl commender as the device is not getting recognized by my PC. Is ther any way or software which can help me connecting the BB to my computer through which I can push the BB OS on the device

aiharkness
05-31-2009, 04:13 AM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

Did you try http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/What_to_do_next_if_Jl_Cmder_will_not_connect_and_wipe?

b_tuli
05-31-2009, 04:20 AM
[QUOTE=FF2;1394995]Search for threads on JL Commander. Also check the Frequently Asked Questions threads - there are threads on how to restore a bricked phone. The FAQ is the second thread if you come into the forums section.


hi thanks for the reply, unfortunately the same did not work as the BB is not getting connected with the PC. The error message I am getting is "unknown USB device". Is there any software/driver I need to downloade to get the sam eworking. Thanks

aiharkness
05-31-2009, 04:26 AM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

I don't know. Have you tried different usb ports on the computer? And don't use a hub.

b_tuli
05-31-2009, 04:38 AM
[QUOTE=FF2;1394995]Search for threads on JL Commander. Also check the Frequently Asked Questions threads - there are threads on how to restore a bricked phone. The FAQ is the second thread if you come into the forums section.


hi thanks for the reply, unfortunately the same did not work as the BB is not getting connected with the PC. The error message I am getting is " USB Device Not Recognized" (One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned, and windows does not recognise it). I am using Win XP with sp2 installed. Is there any software/driver I need to downloade to get the same working. Thanks

b_tuli
05-31-2009, 04:41 AM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

I don't know. Have you tried different usb ports on the computer? And don't use a hub.

I dont know if the USB port on the Laptop is connected through USB hub or not. It Laptop has 3 USB ports and is a Lenovo R60 laptop with Intel Centriono Duo processes running Win XP professional with SP 2 installed.

b_tuli
07-11-2009, 05:41 AM
Hi, I am not able to connecte my BB8830 to my PC. The error I am getting is "USB Device Not Recognized" (One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned, and windows does not recognise it). I am using Win XP with sp2 installed. Is there any software/driver I need to downloade to get the same working. Also the phone is not charging when connected to USB which it use to earlier. Pl help

djm2
07-12-2009, 07:35 PM
Have you installed Desktop Manager? If not, do so.

b_tuli
07-19-2009, 02:34 AM
Hi, DM 4.7 is running on my machine. Still it is not able to connect to the PC

b_tuli
07-19-2009, 05:05 AM
Can any one help in solving this problem??? I am not able to backup my device.

ndub33
07-19-2009, 10:10 AM
Have you tied using a different USB cable? They are relatively inexpensive.