PDA

View Full Version : blackberry 7100 as usb modem without data plan


maish
11-16-2005, 03:44 PM
hi
I am currently using my blackberry 7100 as a phone and organizer but not internet connected- I have no plan with a carrier

i would like to use the modem and have found detailed descriptions for using it as such

however I cannot find 'control panel' or 'modems'

Would these options have been set wen I load a program ( exchange?) when beginning a data plan ?? or is tehre independent software i shoudl be loading

Thank you in advance
Michael

djseto
11-16-2005, 04:13 PM
No data service, no modem. There is an FAQ about how to configure it to use it as a modem

europamo
11-16-2005, 04:15 PM
No offense, but why? Why would you have a 7100() and not use it, then try and just use it as a modem? Wouldnt an actual modem for your laptop or pc be more useful? :???:

Seems like such a waste of the device itself.

Grammer
11-16-2005, 11:44 PM
hi
I am currently using my blackberry 7100 as a phone and organizer but not internet connected- I have no plan with a carrier


Answered your own question buddy. No can do.

maish
11-23-2005, 04:33 PM
No data service, no modem. There is an FAQ about how to configure it to use it as a modem


Basically - if I understand you - until I have a data plan I cannot even use the units modem to dial with my laptop

penguin3107
11-23-2005, 04:34 PM
Basically - if I understand you - until I have a data plan I cannot even use the units modem to dial with my laptop

Correct.

maish
11-23-2005, 04:35 PM
No offense, but why? Why would you have a 7100() and not use it, then try and just use it as a modem? Wouldnt an actual modem for your laptop or pc be more useful? :???:

Seems like such a waste of the device itself.
no offense taken
I cannot afford data but I like the op system better than palm and the keyboard kills normal cell phones ( obviously)

I have a laptop but no phone jack available

want to use modem of blackberry to dial wireless internet connection to laptop

Used to do this with my previous phone ( sony t616)
I cannot find modem settings on current blackberry which is why assume the modem is not 'configured' If I have no data plan

Does this make sense to you

andrebsd
11-23-2005, 11:58 PM
The issue is, the Blackberry wont do CSD (your sony t616 could)... meaning, there is no possible way to have the Blackberry dial up a normal isp number like you could with your sony and use voice minutes. The blackberry will always "dial" with GPRS; and you will need a data plan for that.