PDA

View Full Version : New to the Blackberry World...

Jbenven
11-16-2005, 04:26 PM
Ok so I'm a graduating college student, going to medical school... and I'm looking to upgrade my P.O.S. Motorola v600.

I have been doing my research into the 8700c, (a cingular customer). I lost my PDA in Hurricane Katrina, along with most of my other stuff...

I'm a hardware geek, but I'm no executive by any means.

Here's my question... Do I go w/ a Blackberry or a Palm? I'm sure its alittle biased around here, being that its www.blackberryforums.com.

I'm just looking for alittle advice. My main use would be email,web, and PHONE. I need good quality phone reception...and web browsing in HTML would be a super plus.

Any advice out there?

europamo
11-16-2005, 04:36 PM
once you get a BB, you will desire nothing else but maybe a newer BB

compscibOi
11-16-2005, 05:29 PM
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7250/4.0.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

Get a CrackBerry. Highly addictive.

Mark Rejhon
11-16-2005, 06:29 PM
Being more impartial for a moment, to research on Treo's go to www.treocentral.com (http://www.treocentral.com/) ... To research on PocketPC's I've used www.brighthand.com (http://www.brighthand.com/) .... Good boards. For generic cellphones, www.howardforums.com (http://www.howardforums.com/) is an old favourite.

Now, yes, this board is biased, if you want to research more on BlackBerry, check out the BlackBerry FAQ at www.berryfaq.com (http://www.berryfaq.com/), particularly sections:

Why BlackBerry? (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?p=3494#post3494)
A good thread that covers some of the real reasons many people prefer to use a BlackBerry over multimedia handhelds running PalmOS/PocketPC such as Treo/iPaq handhelds.

BlackBerry Myths Busted: The Modern 2005-era BlackBerry (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=4019)