PDA

View Full Version : Need help!

srishi
06-09-2009, 01:34 PM
Hey everyone!

I just joined right now and I had a few questions about my blackberry. I have a BB 8830 and I recently purchased it off Ebay. Now, the ESN and everything was clean so I transferred my plan on it. However, I was recently told by a friend of mine that my phone was on BES. Is there any way I can clean my phone of these settings? I emailed the tech support at Blackberry, and they said that the only way it can be done is through the company's server or by contacting the company admin. Is that the only way or can anything else be done as well?

Secondly, I was trying to change the WAP settings on my phone, and I was told that I can't change them because I am on the BES. Is that true? And if I do get my phone off the BES, then how do I change the settings to add a different Gateway IP address etc.

Thank you for your help! :smile:
Sorry if I sound confusing.. I'm new to all this!

aiharkness
06-09-2009, 02:59 PM
Wirelessly posted (8820)

It's likely you bought a blackberry that has an IT policy on it from having been on a BES. You can remove the IT policy, but it will be put back on if the blackberry is still registered on the BES.

Look at the top of the general blackberry forum (I think) for the instructions on removing an IT policy. Or look in blackberryfaq.com.

jsconyers
06-09-2009, 03:46 PM
Welcome to the forums.

As Ira stated, you have an IT policy on the device. I would first upgrade your OS to 4.5, then run the ResetToFactory option in JL_Cmder. That will break the connection with the BES (which the device shouldn't be connected anyway) and remove the IT Policy.

Remove IT Policy - BlackBerryFAQ (http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/Remove_IT_Policy)

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-blackberry-discussion/18789-jl_cmder.html?highlight=JL_Cmder

aiharkness
06-09-2009, 05:26 PM
Wirelessly posted (8820)